Cochrane LibraryEBSCO DatabasesEmeraldGoogle ScholarJSTOROneSearch Library CatalogProject MusePubMedScience Direct (Elsevier)SciFinderSocial Sciences Full TextWiley InterscienceWorldCatWeb of Science
Annotated Bibliographies with MLA [Eng 200A]Changing Capitalization
FiltersOutput StylesTerm Lists/Journal Abbreviations
This is the "Creating Bibliographies" page of the "EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7/X8 (and earlier editions)   Tags: bibliographic manager, citations, how_to  

These instructions were written as a short introduction to using EndNote X3, but have been updated continuously to reflect changes to X8.
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/EndNote Print Guide RSS Updates

Creating Bibliographies Print Page
  Search: 
 

EndNote Help

Video explanations from EndNote

 

Inserting References Into Word Documents

Starting with Word:

  1. Be sure to open and minimize EndNote
  2. Place your cursor in your Word document exactly where you want the citation to appear
  3. Click on the EndNote X8 ribbon in the toolbar
  4. Choose your Style
  5. Click the Insert Citation button on the EndNote toolbar in Word
  6. From within EndNote enter a keyword to locate your citation
  7. Click Insert

EndNote toolbar (appears in Word)


Starting with EndNote:

  1. Highlight the reference(s) you want to insert into Word
  2. Be sure the Style you want is highlighted [find it in the Output Style box near the frequently used icons]
  3. Select Edit, then Copy Formated from the top toolbar
  4. Paste into your Word document
 

Creating Stand-Alone Bibliographies

Create a Bibliograpy in Word:

  1. Highlight the references you want to include in your bibliography
  2. Be sure to have selected the appropriate output (bibliographic) style
  3. Select the Edit menu [from the main menubar]
  4. Select Copy Formatted
  5. Paste them into your document

Create a Separate File:

  1. Highlight the references you want to include in your bibliography
  2. Select the appropriate output (bibliographic) style.
  3. Select the Edit menu [from the main menubar]
  4. Select Export...
  5. Select the file type,  usually .rtf
  6. Make sure the Export Selected References box is checked.
  7. Name the file and click Save.

 


California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip