This is the "Market Size" page of the "Market Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Market Research   Tags: customer, demographics, lifestyle, opinion_poll, target_market  

Guide to secondary market research sources for consumers in the United States.
Last Updated: Sep 25, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Market Size Print Page


This guide will help you find resources for doing secondary market research such as collecting demographic, lifestyle, market size, information. Click the tabs above to find online and print resources.

If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations just email, call, or chat with me!

Anne Bradley

Other Ways To Get Help!

For immediate assistance, visit the 2nd floor Reference Desk or call 916-278-5673 during library open hours. Reference librarians will be there to help you! 


    Other Guides

    These related research guides may also be of use:

    Market Research Reports

    Use these resources to determine the market size, major players, etc. of a particular product or industry.

    • IBISWorld
      Provides Industry Market Research reports for more than 700 US industries. Each report is 20-30 pages and is written at the 5-digit level of the official North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
      CSUS Authentication Required.
    • ABI/Inform Complete
      Type search in box then scroll down to Document Type and click box next to Market Research. This will limit search to market research reports.
      CSUS authentication required.
    • Statista
      Includes statistical charts, graphs, and tables for a wide variety of industries. Items can be exported in a variety of formats including PowerPoint slides, images, and Excel tables.
    • Gartner
      Access provided by IRT. Focuses on information technology sector. The Information Technology Portal from Gartner provides market research reports, product lifecycle analysis, vendor ratings, and research articles for the field of IT.
    • Encyclopedia of American Industries
      Provides detailed information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
      Either type you industry into the Search box at the left to search for your industry or click eTable of Contents to browse.
      CSUS Authentication Required.
    • Industry Profiles from Business Source Premier
      Covers select consumer, energy, and transportation markets. The industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends.
      CSUS authentication required.

    Industry Analysis

    • Reuters - Sectors & Industries
      Industry profiles and news from Reuters.
    • S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys
      Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors.
      Available in print at 2 North Reference HG 4921 .S65
    • Yahoo! Industry Center
      Provides financial news by industry.

    Business Librarian

    Profile Image
    Anne Bradley
    Contact Info
    University Library
    Room 2501A
    Phone: 916-278-4350

    Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
    Send Email

    California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679


    Loading  Loading...