This is the "Special Collections and Other Locations" page of the "Finding Books at the University Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Books at the University Library   Tags: how_to  

Explains Library classification systems and how to use a call number to find a book on the shelf.
Last Updated: Oct 4, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/FindingBooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Special Collections and Other Locations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections and Other Locations

There are multiple collections within the building that have their own codes to indicate they are shelved separately from the regular A-Z circulating collection. For example, you might see the abbreviation "q", "ref" or "juv" at the beginning of the call number listed in OneSearch.

  • q = oversized item. Located on 2nd Floor in Folios & Quartos.
  • ref = Reference. Located on 2nd floor in Reference section. Library use only.
  • juv = Juvenile. Located on 2nd Floor in the Juvenile (children's) Collection.

If you want to search for items items within a special collection:

  • Enter keywords in OneSearch, such as Japanese American memoirs.
  • In the left column, scroll down to Library Collections and choose the relevant collection.
  • For this search, I would choose, Japanese American Archival Collection.


SPECIAL LOCATIONS (other than A-Z circulating collection)

Collection & Floor Location

Atlases - 2 NORTH

Archives - 1 SOUTH

Archives Special Collection - 1 SOUTH

CSUS Theses - LOWER LEVEL

CSUS Theses w/ Media - LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER

California Documents - 2 NORTH

  • Local
  • Regional
  • State

Canadian Documents - 2 NORTH

Curriculum Collection - 2 SOUTH 

  • Guides
  • Nonprint
  • Texts                              

Government Documents - 2 NORTH 

  • U.S. Federal (paper)                 2 NORTH
  • Government Documents Card      2 SOUTH
  • Government Docs Computer        2 SOUTH
    Government Documents Fiche      2 NORTH

Films - LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER

Folios - 2 NORTH

Indexes (print) - 2 NORTH and LOWER LEVEL

Juvenile - 2 SOUTH

  • Easy Reading Books
  • Picture Books 
  • Fiction & Non-Fiction              
  • Juvenile Reference                      

Library Media Center - 1 SOUTH

Map Collection - 2 NORTH

  • Drawer Maps                             
  • File Maps 
  • Wall Maps

Microcard - 2 SOUTH

Microfiche including periodicals - LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER

Microfilm including periodicals - LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER

Newsprint Periodical Collection - 3 SOUTH

Periodicals 1980-Current - 3 SOUTH

  • Current (loose issues)
  • Bound (volumes of issues)                                              

Periodicals pre-1980 - LOWER LEVEL

Quarto - 2 NORTH

Reference Collection - 2 NORTH

Reference Desk Collection - 2 NORTH

Special Collections & Univ. Archives - 1 SOUTH 

  • Spec Coll& Univ Arch Oversize
  • Spec Coll & Univ Archives Reference 

Tsakopoulos Collection - 3 NORTH

  • Tsakopoulos Juvenile 
  • Tsakopoulos Periodicals 
  • Tsakopoulos Reference ANY 2-D
      

    Business Librarian

    Profile Image
    Anne Bradley

    Contact Info
    University Library
    Room 2504
    bradleya@csus.edu
    Phone: 916-278-4350

    Research appointments available! Call or email to set up a time.
    Send Email
     

    California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip