This is the "Home" page of the "Counselor Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Counselor Education  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=140616 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

NEW DATABASE ONE YEAR TRIAL

PsycTESTS database of thousands of tests and measures that can be downloaded and used for research and teaching.  Select Databases Articles tab to try it.

Welcome to Library Resources for Counselor Education.   

Please contact me if you have questions.  Another option: make an appointment for an individual research consultation.  My hours are flexible enough to accommodate most schedules. 

Betty Ronayne,

Education Reference Librarian

Library 2001 

916-278-5366 bronayne@csus.edu

 

 

Introduction

This guide will help you find research materials related to counseling in the areas of education, career, community, and family counseling.  Electronic resources with full text online are the main focus, but similar hardcopy materials can be found in the Library by searching the Library's online catalog OneSearch. 

Click on one of the tabs above to begin, or begin by viewing these brief tutorials and videos. 

ERIC Basic Searching

ERIC Advanced Searching*

ERIC More on Advanced Searching*

How to Search CSUS Library Databases

Cited Reference Searching: Using Social Sciences Citation Index Database

 

 

*ERIC Searching videos created at North Carolina State University; used with permission.

 

 

 

 

Five Steps to Successful Research

1.   Read an essay by an expert on your subject to learn important names , dates , and terminology to use in further searching. References at the end of the essay often list the core research articles on the topic.  (TAB above)
         Tools:  Specialized handbooks and encyclopedias
 
2.   Find books on your topic
         Tool:  OneSearch
 
3.   Find peer-reviewed articles on your topic 
         Tools:  Databases, Articles, & Journals (TAB above)
 
4.   Consider specialized sources such as:
         Statistical information  (googleScholar) or (google.com/advanced_search)
         CSUS theses/projects/dissertations (TAB above) or (ScholarWorks on Library homepage)
         Government publications (http://www.usa.gov/) or (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/)
 
HINT: When searching the Internet via google advanced, limit domain to: .edu, .gov, .org for scholarly results
 
5.   Evaluate your material: Top 10 Questions to Ask Yourself
 
      1.)   Intended audience - general, specialist, student?
      2.)   Purpose: inform, entertain, persuade?
      3.)   Author's credentials: affiliation, education, occupation, publications?
      4.)   Publisher: learned society, research institution, commercial, private, political
              organization?
      5.)   Refereed, reviewed, or edited journal?
      6.)   Documentation: sources cited, bibliography, list of references?
 
For Internet Web sources, in addition to the above ask yourself:
 
      7.)   What is the value of the Web site compared to the range of other sources available on
              this topic?
      8.)   When was the Web item produced and last revised - currency?
      9.)   Does the text follow basic rules of grammar, spelling, composition?
     10.)  Is contact information for the author included in the document?
  

 

 

 

Anthropology/Ethnic Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Reza Peigahi
Contact Info
Instruction/Anthropology/Ethnic Studies Librarian
Library 2028
(916) 278-5246
reza.peigahi@csus.edu
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip