This is the "Databases for Journal Articles" page of the "Refugees and Displaced Persons" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Refugees and Displaced Persons   Tags: asylum_seeker, displaced_person, internally_displaced_person, refugee, refugees  

Last Updated: Jun 27, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/refugees Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases for Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases and Articles

The databases listed are recommended for locating articles on refugees. See the Databases by Subject page for more databases.

  • Academic Search Complete
    This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
  • California Newspapers (NewsBank)
    Contains links to full text articles in 73 California newspapers.
  • CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
    In-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day; ritten by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
  • JSTOR (All Subjects)
    JSTOR includes journals in the humanities and social sciences fields. JSTOR does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR.
  • Polling the Nations
    A collection of public opinion with information from the U.S. and over 100 countries worldwide. The database began in 1981 and comprises over 500,000 questions from various sources including Gallup, Harris, Roper and others. There are over 5600 topics in the database on a broad array of issues.
  • RAND Research
    RAND’s research products utilize analytical tools and methods to develop objective policy solutions. They present fact-based, actionable solutions grounded in rigorous analysis. Topics include business, economics, social sciences and science which cover California, the US and the world.

  • Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
    Social Sciences Full Text™ includes full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983; coverage includes economics, international relations, public welfare, urban studies and much more.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
    A database of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Can be searched by keyword/topic and includes individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets). Coverage: 2013 - current. Some international statistics included.
  • USA.gov: The U.S. Gov't Web Portal
    A gateway to all government information and connects you to millions of web pages–from the federal government, state governments, the DIstrict of Columbia, U.S. territories, local and tribal governments and to foreign nations around the world.

Hints for finding articles

Many of the databases will provide the article citation, abstract and full text of the article. To retrieve the full text of an article from within most databases click on the PDF or HTML icon or if not available use the Find It @SacState link, usually located at the end of an article record summary.

Finding specific journals

To find a specific journal use the Journal Titles A-Z List, or do a title search in OneSearch and limit the results to JOURNALS ( under 'Refine my Results' to the right of the screen.) ~~~

To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol. Truncation symbols vary by database, but the usual suspects are an asterisk * exclamation mark ! or a pound # sign. Click here for an explanation on the EBSCO databases.

~~~ A great way to see what the latest research is in any subject area is to select a journal (online of course, using the Journal Titles A-Z list) and then browsing the table of contents.

      

    Off Campus Access

    Off-campus access is available to all current CSUS students, faculty, and staff to many Library electronic resources.

    Connecting to electronic resources from off-campus may require authentication with SacLink User ID and password. Full instructions are here. 

        

      Google Scholar

      Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers.  Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing (see explaination above).  Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, using Google Scholar Advanced Search is recommended.

      Click here for help using Google Scholar.




      California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip