General ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopediasBibliographies/Indexes
Government DocumentsNewspapers & PeriodicalsArchival/Manuscript CollectionsDigital Collections
This is the "Greek-American Studies" page of the "Modern Greek Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Modern Greek Studies   Tags: cyprus, greece, greek, greek, hellenic, modern, studies, studies  

Guide to interdisciplinary research in Modern Greek Studies.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/moderngreekstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Greek-American Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hint:

If you are unfamiliar with a topic, it is often best to start with a reference book such as a dictionary, encyclopedia, review article or other reference source to gain a basic understanding of your topic as well as terminology used in the field.

Reference Sources

Sources are listed by type of resource and separated by language: English; Greek; other languages. (Note: (FT) following the item title will link to the full-text of the resource; otherwise the link directs to the bibliographic record of the resource.)

Subject Headings

Principal subject headings relating to Greek-American studies:

Articles and Databases

See main articles and database tab for more. 

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Extensive multidisciplinary article database. A great place to start.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    Coverage: 1964-. Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Full-texts links within EBSCO and to JSTOR articles. Useful for research on Greek Americans and Greek Canadians. Use in conjunction with Historical Abstracts.
  • Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)  
      
    Coverage: 1861-. The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Full text available for most of the dissertations added since 1997. The Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection holds nearly 400 dissertations on microfilm.
  • JSTOR
    Growing electronic archive of core scholarly journals in numerous disciplines, with emphasis on the social sciences and humanities.

Newspapers and Periodicals

  • Chronos (San Francisco, CA)
    California Greek-American newspaper
    Library has: 1915-1918 [gaps] on microfilm [2 reels].

    E 184 .G7 C557 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Journal of the Hellenic Diaspora. (FT)
    1974-.
    Scholarly journal to all aspects of the Hellenic experience outside Greece and Cyprus.

    Full-text archive through 2009.

    Library' print holdings are at DF 701 .J68 | 3 NORTH Tsakopoulos and 3 NORTH Tsak. Ref. (for current issues).
  • Kaliphornia (San Francisco, CA)
    California Greek-American newspaper
    Library has: 1908; 1911-1918 [gaps] on microfilm [5 reels].

    E 184 .G7 K144 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Nea Kaliphornia = New California Hellenic Newspaper (San Francisco, CA)
    California Greek-American newspaper
    Library has: 1950 [gaps] on microfilm [10 reels].

    E 184 .G7 N338 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Prometheus (San Francisco, CA)
    California Greek-American newspaper
    Library has: 1907-1928 [gaps] on microfilm [1 reel].

    E 184 .G7 P94 1923-1928 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Tharros (San Francisco, CA)
    California Greek-American newspaper
    Library has: Feb. 13-Mar. 13, 1944 on microfilm [1 reel].

    E 184 .G7 T367 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • (Western) Hellenic Journal (San Francisco, CA).
    San Francisco, Calif. : Western Hellenic Journal, Inc., 1975-.
    Library has Apr. 10-Sept. 11, 1975 as original title, Western Hellenic Journal, on microfilm [2 reels]; Hellenic Journal 1975-1997 on microfilm [3 reels]; 2000- in print.
  • Empros (Chicago, IL and New York, NY).
    Chicago/New York Greek-American newspaper published by the Greek Language Section of the Workers' Communist Party of America
    Library has: Jul. 24, 1926-Dec. 30, 1938 on microfilm [3 reels].

    E 184 .G7 E47 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Hē Phoni tou Ergatou: The Voice of the Worker (New York, NY).
    New York Greek-American newspaper published by the Greek Federation of the Workers' Party of America
    Library has: Dec. 30, 1922-Jun. 30, 1923 on microfilm [1 reel].

    E 184 .G7 P56 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Organōsis (New York, NY).
    New York Greek-American newspaper published by the Greek Branches of the Socialist Labor Party of America
    Library has: Sept. 1922-Oct. 15, 1924 on microfilm [1 reel].

    E 184 .G7 O74 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Prōtoporos (New York, NY).
    New York Greek-American newspaper published by the Greek Workers Educational Federation of America
    Library has: v.1(1935:Mar.)-v.3(1937:June) on microfilm [1 reel].

    E 184 .G7 P95 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.
  • Nomotagēs: The Loyal (New York, NY).
    New York Greek-American newspaper published by the Greek-American Loyalists League of the United States
    Library has: Apr. 5, 1919-Jul. 10, 1920 on microfilm [1 reel].

    E 184.G7 N72 | Lib. Media Ctr. TSAK.

Curator, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

Profile Image
George I. Paganelis
Contact Info
University Library, #3025 & #1511
California State University, Sacramento
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
Phone: (916) 278-4361
Fax: (916) 278-5917
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip