General ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopediasBibliographies/Indexes
Government DocumentsNewspapers & PeriodicalsArchival/Manuscript CollectionsDigital Collections
This is the "Archival/Manuscript Collections" page of the "Modern Greek Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Modern Greek Studies   Tags: cyprus, greece, greek, greek, hellenic, modern, studies, studies  

Guide to interdisciplinary research in Modern Greek Studies.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/moderngreekstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Archival/Manuscript Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Photo: Basil J. Vlavianos

Dr. Basil J. Vlavianos

Archive/Manuscript Collections in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

  • Jelisaveta "Seka" Allen Papers.
    Papers of the cataloging librarian at Dumbarton Oaks Research Library.
  • Costa G. Couvaras Papers.
    The Costa G. Couvaras papers (1913-1987) consist of biographical materials, correspondence, photos, newspaper and magazine articles pertaining to Costa Couvaras. In particular, it contains materials relating to his involvement in the OSS Mission Pericles, which took place in Greece during 1944-1945. It also includes information regarding the book in which Couvaras wrote about the mission.

    Additional Couvaras papers are held by the Hoover Institution Archives at Stanford University. See the finding aid.
  • Julia B. Norton Papers.
    Includes family correspondence, mementos of Julia Norton's transatlantic voyage, and her work in the American Red Cross in Greece. Norton graduated from Vassar College in 1916. In 1918 she traveled to France and worked with refugees in Paris.
  • Michael Savvides Papers.
    Contains passports, news clippings, letters, notes and audio cassettes pertaining to Michael Savvides, former editor of the Greek Tribune and long-time activist in Cyprus affairs.
  • Michael Sotirhos Correspondence Files.
    The Michael G. Sotirhos correspondence files (1988-1993) consist of the personal correspondences of the U.S. Ambassador in Greece.
  • Basil J. Vlavianos Papers.
    The collection contains correspondence, photographs, research papers, paintings, clippings/articles, bound volumes, ephemera, financial records, legal documents, manuscripts, maps/charts, minutes, newspapers, publications, pamphlets, books, journals, research materials, speeches, subject files, and more pertaining to the educational and professional life of Basil John Vlavianos.

    In addition to his papers, the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection is home to over 3,000 volumes from his library. Search the collection.

    See also the Guide to the Fritz Busse illustrations for more on Arts, Inc. and the American Cities series.
  • Guide to the Apollo Opera Company Index of Composers.
    The Apollo Opera Company index of composers is an index to many "lost" and lesser known operas.
  • Guide to the Fritz Busse Original Ink and Watercolor Illustrations.
    The collection contains original ink and watercolor paintings and sketches by German artist Fritz Busse specifically made for a series of books published by Arts, Inc.

    See also Series 4 of the Vlavianos Papers for files on Arts, Inc. and the American Cities series for which Busse was commissioned to create original illustrations.
  • Olympic Memorabilia Collection.
    Consists of medals, postcards, and publications for Greek Olympics in 1906.

UNPROCESSED Archive/Manuscript Collections in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

These collections are currently unprocessed. For further information or to inquire about access, please contact George Paganelis.

  • Anti-Authoriarianism in Greece Collection.
    0.5 linear feet.
  • Greek and Greek American Labor Collection.
    0.5 linear feet.
  • John P. Anton Papers.
    60 linear feet.
  • Steve A. Demakopoulos Papers.
    10 linear feet.
  • Theano Papazoglou-Margare Papers.
    7.5 linear feet.
  • Nicholas G. Pattakos Papers.
    2.5 linear feet.
  • Nicholas Petris Papers.
    0.1 linear feet.
  • Records of the Pan-Hellenic Emergency Committee to Aid Cyprus.
    15 linear feet.
  • Records of Security Trust Associates.
    8.75 linear feet.
  • Records of the Speros Basil Vryonis Center for the Study of Hellenism.
    23.75 linear feet.

Curator, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

Profile Image
George I. Paganelis
Contact Info
University Library, #3025 & #1511
California State University, Sacramento
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
Phone: (916) 278-4361
Fax: (916) 278-5917
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip