General ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopediasBibliographies/Indexes
Government DocumentsNewspapers & PeriodicalsArchival/Manuscript CollectionsDigital Collections
This is the "Primary Source Collections" page of the "Modern Greek Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Modern Greek Studies   Tags: cyprus, greece, greek, greek, hellenic, modern, studies, studies  

Guide to interdisciplinary research in Modern Greek Studies.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/moderngreekstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Primary Source Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

"Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. They are created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented. Often these sources are created at the time when the events or conditions are occurring, but primary sources can also include autobiographies, memoirs, and oral histories recorded later. Primary sources are characterized by their content, regardless of whether they are available in original format, in microfilm/microfiche, in digital format, or in published format."

 

--From Yale University Library Primary Sources.

 

Primary Source Subheadings

In addition to the collections listed on the Primary Source Collections subtabs, subject subheadings (in bold) in One Search records such as the following also indicate works that consist of or contain primary sources:

  • War correspondents -- Greece -- Biography (if used for an autobiography, memoir, or personal narrative)
  • Cavafy, Constantine, 1863-1933 -- Correspondence
  • Jews -- Greece -- ThessalonikÄ“ -- Diaries
  •  VamvakarÄ“s, Markos, 1905-1972 -- Interviews
  • Cyprus -- History -- Cyprus Crisis 1974 -- Personal Narratives
  • Greece -- History -- 1944-1949 -- Pictorial Works
  • Greece -- History -- War Of Independence 1821-1829 -- Sources

 

 

    Curator, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection

    Profile Image
    George I. Paganelis
    Contact Info
    University Library, #3025 & #1511
    California State University, Sacramento
    2000 State University Drive East
    Sacramento, CA 95819-6039
    Phone: (916) 278-4361
    Fax: (916) 278-5917
    Send Email
     

    California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip