This is the "History Databases" page of the "History - California, Sacramento and Local History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History - California, Sacramento and Local History   Tags: california_history, sacramento  

Last Updated: Jun 15, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/CalifHist Print Guide RSS Updates

History Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Articles from periodicals: newspapers, popular magazines, trade journals, or scholarly journals, are found using indexes and databases. (Refer to the guide Popular Magazine or Scholarly Journal for an explanation on the differences between these types of periodicals.)

The University Library subscribes just over a thousand periodicals in paper, while electronic subscriptions and databases now provide access to over 40,000 journals online. Current periodicals received in paper are arranged by title on 3 SOUTH.  Depending on the subscription, access to the online subscription is made via OneSearch (search periodical title) or through a database.

To determine if a specific periodical is available in a database use the Article Citation Linker. If we don't own the item you need, create an ILIAD account and use Interlibrary Loan Services to obtain articles that are not available at CSUS.

Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to Sac State students, faculty, and staff who must login with their SacLink account if accessing the databases from off campus. 

The links below are to databases that will be most helpful in locating articles about California History.

  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
  • JSTOR: Advanced Search
    JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary full-text archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
  • California's Newspapers
    103 California newspapers can be searched, including the Sacramento Bee. Most electornic files go back to the mid 1980s but microfilm copies of the Bee and the original paper copies of the Sacramento Union can be viewed that go back to the 1850s and 1860s.
  • The New York Times: Archive Search for 'Sacramento'
    Result of a search for "Sacramento" in the Historical archive of New York Times articles from 1851 to 1980.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Amata
Contact Info
916 278 5672 Voice
Office: Library 2505
Mail Stop: 6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip