Media
Written SourcesOral SourcesVisual SourcesElectronic SourcesSearching for Primary SourcesPower Point on Primary SourcesMicrofilm (selected list)
Assignment #1Assignment #2Assignment #3Assignment #4Primary Sources Power PointWilson History 100Numark History 100History 17B Dr Lupo
This is the "Assignment #2" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=130663 Print Guide RSS Updates

Assignment #2 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Rose's Assignment #2: Secondary, Periodical and Reference Sources

+ This assignment must be typed.  You will need to use online resources (http://library.csus.edu) AND visit the library in person. 
+ DO NOT ask reference librarians for help with these questions.  They have been instructed not to help, which goes against the very core of their being.  Instead, you can ask me, or, Ben Amata has developed a webpage to help you if you get stuck on something. 

  •  In the library, please return all materials to their original and upright position as a courtesy for students who will follow in your footsteps.
  • Sloppiness in citations—misspellings, incorrect titles and punctuation, lack of capitalization, and failure to underscore or italicize book, journal, and newspaper titles—will be marked down.  
  • When asked to make a Xerox, it must be readable for research purposes or it will not count.

1. A) Name two academic journals devoted to California history (NO newsletters).  B) Pick one of them and Xerox an issue’s (not a volume’s) table of contents (NOT cumulative or yearly index that lists all the articles for the entire year) from the 1980s.  Include it with this assignment.  C) Pick an article from that Xeroxed table of contents and make both a footnote and a bibliographic entry for it (see Turabian, 17.2).

HINT: As in Assignment 1, you can search for periodicals by keyword and/or Library of Congress Subject Heading and limit your search by Location to just Periodicals. For example, using the subject heading: United States Foreign Relations Periodicals will find the journal Diplomatic History. If you don't know the subject heading, you can do a keyword search and again limit by "Location" to find journal titles.

Note that in this question you are being asked to find articles from a specific time range. The EUREKA record indicates the locations for material and format.

2. Give full bibliographic entries (see Turabian, 17.1) for any two historical monographs that are from the Washington State local history section of the library, F 886-900.  Make sure these are historical monographs (history books written by professional scholars on a particular topic) and NOT novels, edited collections of essays, biographies, bibliographies, autobiographies, government documents, diaries, travelogues, oral histories, etc.  Remember, an historical monograph will have an author and NOT an editor.  It is best to actually visit the books in person to determine this.

3. Give full bibliographic entries (see Turabian, 17.1) for any two historical monographs that are from the Georgia local history section of the library, F 286-294.  Make sure these are historical monographs (history books written by professional scholars on a particular topic) and NOT novels, edited collections of essays, biographies, bibliographies, autobiographies, government documents, diaries, travelogues, oral histories, etc.  Remember, an historical monograph will have an author and NOT an editor.  It is best to actually visit the books in person to determine this.

HINT: You can check the preface and/or introduction to possibly determine the author's background.  Otherwise, doing a Google search or looking for book reviews can help.

3.  A) On which floor are the hard copies of the CSUS master’s theses held at the Library?  B) Using Eureka and searching the CSUS Theses Collection, cite, in BOTH bibliographic and footnote form (see Turabian, 17.6.1), a CSU Sacramento master’s thesis that is about Sacramento and baseball’s Pacific Coast League.

4. Go to the HQ750-755.5 section of the library and provide, in both footnote and bibliographic format (see Turabian, 17.1), a book that addresses eugenics history in the United States.

HINT: Library floor maps might be useful.  http://library.csus.edu/content2.asp?pageID=118

5. Go to the library webpage and click on Database and Article Searching.  Now click on “O” and then click on the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).  (A) When is the first instance of “buffalo wing” in writing?  B) True or false:  “LOL” did not exist in English language until the advent of electronic communication in the 1980s.  (C) When do hippies first appear in print?

For questions 6-9 you will need to work in the reference section of the library (ALL the answers MUST come from this section or they will be marked wrong).  It is located on the second floor, right behind the reference librarians.  But begin on Eureka.  And remember, just because a book has a bibliography, that does not make the book a bibliography.

HINT: You can use the Advanced Keyword Search feature in EUREKA and LIMIT to a specific Location.  Click on EUREKA: Library Catalog at the Library's webpage under Resources and Collections on the left side of the page. http://library.csus.edu/On the right side, click on Advanced Keyword Search.  Type in your keywords AND use the box below, LOCATION, and highlight Reference. Then do your search.

6. Locate two bibliographies that deal with the California.  List authors or editors, titles and call numbers.

Hint: You can use the word "bibliography" in a keywowrd or SUBJECT search to locate this specific type of publication.

7.  Locate two bibliographies on women.  List authors or editors, titles and call numbers. 

 8. Name two scholarly encyclopedias that focus on business.  List authors or editors, titles and call numbers.

HINT: You can use the word "encyclopedia" in a keyword or SUBJECT search to locate this specific type of publication - e.g. United States History Encyclopedia.

9. A) Locate two prominent biographical dictionaries on Americans.  List authors or editors, titles and call numbers.  B) Xerox one page of an entry on a person whose last name begins with “P” and include it with this assignment.

HINT: You can use the word "dictionary" in a keyword or SUBJECT search to locate this specific type of publication -e.g United States History Dictionaries.

10. From the F868 section, give me a footnote entry for a book on the history of a California county or region.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Amata
Contact Info
916 278 5672 Voice
Office: Library 2505
Mail Stop: 6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip