Media
Written SourcesOral SourcesVisual SourcesElectronic SourcesSearching for Primary SourcesPower Point on Primary SourcesMicrofilm (selected list)
Assignment #1Assignment #2Assignment #3Assignment #4Primary Sources Power PointWilson History 100Numark History 100History 17B Dr Lupo
This is the "Book & Media Reviews" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=130663 Print Guide RSS Updates

Book & Media Reviews Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Book Reviews

Book reviews can help one's research by finding relevant material that a professional in the field has already critiqued.  Some databases allow one to locate book reviews. 

History Databases

Search the appropriate history databases for book reviews. 

  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries and covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Indexes and provides abstracts of over 2,100 journals, including key historical journals from virtually every major country. Coverage is from 1400 to present.

Other Databases

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    A multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 12,500 titles.
  • Project MUSE
    Offers some 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts. Specifically the journals are divided into the following subject categories: African studies, American studies, Anthropology, Art, Asian Studies, Canadian Studies, Caribbean studies, Classics, Culture and Society, Economics, Education, Film, Theater,
  • JSTOR
    An electronic archive to specific scholarly journals (2,450 titles). It does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published. For history search history and other areas as appropriate for one's topic, e.g. african studies, african-american studies, asian studies, feminist and women studies, geography, and political science.

Other Sources

  • H-Net (Humanities and Social Sciences Online)
    H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Our edited lists and web sites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.
  • Annual bulletin of historical literature
    Available in paper from 1911-1989, 1991-2004 in the Library on 2 South under the call number: DZ 6205 .H5. Available electronically since 1998-2012. Ceased publication in 2012.
  • Index to book reviews in the humanities
    Available in paper from 1960-1990 in the Library on 2 North Index Area under the call number: Z 1035 .A1 I63.
  • Book Review Digest
    Available in paper from 1905 to current in the Library. 1905-1988 are located in the Lower Level and 1989 to current on 2 North Index Area under the call number: Z 1035 .A1 B56.
  • Book Review Index
    Available in paper from 1965 to current in the Library on 2 North Index Area under the call number Ref Z 1035 .A1 B6.
  • Humanities Index
    Available in paper from 1974/75-1999 in the Library on 2 North Index Area under the call number AI 3 .R492 and the Lower Level.
  • Social Sciences Index
    Available in paper from 1974/75-1999 in the Library on 2 North Index Area under the call number Ref AI 3 .R494.
  • New York Times Book Review Index, 1896-1970
    Available in paper from in the Library in 2 North Reference under the call number Ref Z 1035 .A1 N4
  • Index to book reviews in historical periodicals
    Indentifies book reviews for history books from 1972-77. Located in Ref DZ 6205 B3.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Amata
Contact Info
916 278 5672 Voice
Office: Library 2505
Mail Stop: 6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip