Research Guides: History (General): Find Articles

Disciplinary Literature

Finding disciplinary or subject literature is available in databases. Coverage varies so you may need to search multiple databases. Some provide citations to scholarly and peer reviewed articles and abstracts (summaries of the material). Many databases provide the FINDIT feature that will link to the full text or to our catalog record for those in paper or microform formats. For those we don't own, it will link to our ILLIAD, our interlibrary loan service so that one you request the article from another library. Some databases also index books, reports and dissertations.

History Databases

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries and covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes and provides abstracts of over 2,100 journals, including key historical journals from virtually every major country. Coverage is from 1400 to present.

Related Databases

Search other databases for relevant research. Some like JSTOR and Project Muse are limited in breadth and depth but provide full text for everything contained there.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

JSTOR
An electronic archive to specific scholarly journals (230 titles). It does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published. For history search history and other areas as appropriate for one's topic, e.g. african studies, african-american studies, asian studies, feminist and women studies, geography, and political science.
Project MUSE
Offers some 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Journals included in this database are in the areas of the humanities, social sciences and the arts. Specifically the journals are divided into the following subject categories: African studies, American studies, Anthropology, Art, Asian Studies, Canadian Studies, Caribbean studies, Classics, Culture and Society, Economics, Education, Film, Theater,

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2024 11:43 AM