EncyclopediasDictionariesHandbooks
Research
This is the "Handbooks" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=130653 Print Guide RSS Updates

Handbooks Print Page
  Search: 
 

Handbooks

Handbook is a type of reference work, or other collection of instructions, that is intended to provide ready reference.  A handbook is sometimes referred to as a vade mecum (Latin, "go with me") or pocket reference that is intended to be carried at all times. Handbooks may deal with any topic, and are generally compendiums of information in a particular field or about a particular technique. They are designed to be easily consulted and provide quick answers in a certain area.  Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Handbook

  • Corrections  
      
    Covers the correctional system and offers arguments for and against the practice of the laws and policies that comprise corrections, from parole and probation to imprisonment, to the application of the death penalty.
  • Courts, law, and justice  
      
    Covers highly contested topics, including drug and gun control laws as well as the ins and outs of the criminal justice system as encountered by arrested suspects.
  • Crime and criminal behavior  
      
    Covers topics such as the age of consent, euthanasia and assisted suicide, gambling, guns, internet pornography, marijuana and other drug laws, religious convictions, and terrorism and extremism.
  • Forensic science  
      
    Covers theories, techniques, and applications of the various forensic sciences. Includes specific types of investigations; both general and specific investigative techniques; specialized equipment; and types of evidence. Examines aspects of chemical and biological agents as well as specific types of injuries, diseases, and other medical conditions.
  • Juvenile crime and justice  
      
    Presents arguments both in favor of and opposed to various treatments, programs, and punishments, examining issues such as youth curfews, juveniles in adult courts, legal representation for juveniles, juvenile boot camps, group homes, and out-of-home placement.
  • Police and law enforcement  
      
    Examines many aspects of policing in society, including their common duties, legal regulations on those duties, problematic policing practices, and alternatives to traditional policing.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Amata
Contact Info
916 278 5672 Voice
Office: Library 2505
Mail Stop: 6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip