EncyclopediasDictionariesHandbooks
Research
This is the "Survey Research & Data" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=130653 Print Guide RSS Updates

Survey Research & Data Print Page
  Search: 
 

Learn More About Survey Research

Use EUREKA to search for books on how to conduct research.  Click on the these links to find material.

 

 

Suvey Research

Survey Research is the method most frequently used by sociologists in their study of American and other large societies.  Surveys allow sociologists to move from a relatively small sample of individuals, who are accessible as carriers of information about themselves and their society to the broad contours of a large population.  Encyclopedia of Sociology, v.4 1992, pp 2121-22.

 

Survey Data Sources

  • Polling the Nation
    A collection of public opinion with information from the U.S. and over 100 countries worldwide. The database began in 1981 and comprises over 500,000 questions from various sources including Gallup, Harris, Roper and others. There are over 5600 topics in the database on a broad array of issues. Updated monthly.
  • American Public Opinion Index
    A paper index in the Reference Collection that is arranged by subjects and provides periodic and special surveys conducted from 1981-2000 on a variety of topics. Once one locates a survey, one can find the data on microfiche in the Library Media Center on the first floor (Microfiche 010040)
  • Gallup Poll
    A collection of polls conducted from 1937-1990 on a variety of topics. Located in the Library's Reference Collection, each volume contains questions asked and responses. A subject index in the back of each volume allows quick and easy location of surveys.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Amata
Contact Info
916 278 5672 Voice
Office: Library 2505
Mail Stop: 6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip