EncyclopediasDictionariesHandbooks
Research
This is the "Find Books" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=130653 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

ONESEARCH

Keyword Searching:

  • Searches only for the words, not the concepts.
  • Is often the best search to do initially, until you know what the Subject terms are.
  • Can be used in conjunction with an outline to conceptualize a topic.
Subject Searching:
  • Searches the concept (as defined by the Library of Congress Subject Headings)
  • Is often better done when the keyword search isn't garnering material appropriate to the topic.
  • May take more work, but will yield better results than a keyword search.

PowerPoint: Searching for criminal justice books: http://library.csus.edu/guides/amatab/criminaljustice/CRJCATALOGSEARCH.pdf

Other Catalogs

Other catalgos allow one to find material not owned by CSUS.

  • WorldCat (OCLC)
    WorldCat database is the online catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide that contains 57 million records.
  • UC Davis Catalog
    Search for books, journals, and other items in the UC Davis librarie contains records for books, journals, archives, music scores, maps, government documents and other material in the UC Davis libraries (excluding Law and departmental libraries). CSUS students can go to the libraries and borrow up to 5 books. Some material doesn't circulate.
  • Grey Literature Database
    Contains gray literature publications on all aspects of crime and criminal justice that are available online or in the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice. This database supplements the Rutgers School of Law Library Catalog and Criminal Justice Abstracts. Gray literature is a term applied to sources of information that are not commercially published and is typically composed of technical reports, working papers, government and agency reports, and conference proceedings.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Amata
Contact Info
916 278 5672 Voice
Office: Library 2505
Mail Stop: 6039
Send Email
 

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip