What is alternative publication?
There
are no two definitions that are the same, but most are practical
ones, that is, they are the definitions used by librarians and
alternative publishers in referring to non-standard, non-establishment
publications (James P. Danky, 1974). Although "alternative
publication" is considered a more accurate term, the other
terms are frequently used as well, reflecting a variety of views as
to what constitutes an "alternative publication":
non-traditional publications, non-mainstream publications, underground
press, etc. In addition to political issues, some publications address
issues to special interest groups, such as environmentalists and the gay
community.
Alternative publications are said to express viewpoints not typically represented in the
mainstream or corporate-owned publications. They are often described as extreme, radical, moderate,
liberal, leftist, progressive, dissent, activist or anything but
conventional.
"Developing out of the
"underground" newspapers of the 60's and 70's, these
publications are now serious theoretical, journalistic, and literary
organs that address global and local issues with awareness, sensitivity,
and investigative thoroughness. Hence, they can be excellent sources for
the study of contemporary issues." (from Introduction, Alternative
Press Microform Collection Guide 1990).
You might get more definitions from this page at http://www.mta.ca/library/alternative_media.html#definitions
Databases
The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many of which are full-text. They are available from the Library Homepage by selecting Database & Article Searching. These databases are accessible from library Network Stations and from campus computer labs. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions at Connecting to Library Databases from Off-Campus.
Alternative Press Index (1991 to present)
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals.
Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest) (Full text 1990s to present)
An interdisciplinary resource comprising the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Left Index (EBSCO) (1982 & earlier to present)
Provides access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Microform Collection
(First floor Library Media Center How to use the collection? Click here for tips)
The following microfilm collections are located in the Library Media Center on the first floor. Each collection (a) is accompanied with a print guide (b). Details about each guide are given in How to use the collection
1. a. Alternative press collection [microform] Unit 1(1986)(Reels 1-36), 6(1991)(Reels 1-49), 7(1992)
(Reels1-60), 8(1993)(Reels1-43). A collection of alternative journals and newspapers.
b. Alternative press : a guide to the microform collection [Print]
PN 4784 .U53 A48 (1990 Unit 1-11, 1 SOUTH Microform Collection)
2. a. Underground newspaper collection.
MICROFILM: Reel n.1(1965)-476(1985), the Hoover Institution Supplement (16 reels), and the
University of Missouri Supplement (9 reels).
b. Underground press collection. Listing of contents. (1963 - 85)
[Print] PNZ 6944 .U5 U56 (2 North Reference / 1 South Micriform)
3. a. Right wing collection of the University of Iowa Libraries 1918-1977 MICROFILM: Reels 1-177
b. The right wing collection of the University of Iowa Libraries, 1918-1977 : a guide to the microfilm
collection [Print] 2 NORTH Reference JKZ 6944 .P6 R51
4. a. Radical pamphlet literature : a collection from the Tamiment Library, 1817-1970 [microform.]
(Call No. Microfilm 008138) 90 microfilm reels It consists of 8,672 pamphlets from 1817 to 1970.
b. Guide to the microfilm edition of radical pamphlet literature : a collection from the Tamiment
Library, 1817 (1900-1945) 1970 ref HXZ 7164 .S67 G8
5. a. Socialist collections in the Tamiment Library, 1872-1956 (Call No. Microfilm 000362) 68 reels
The 19 manuscript collections in this microfilm edition are a source for investigating aspects of American
socialism during the late 19th and 20th centuries.
b. Socialist collections in the Tamiment Library, 1872-1956: a guide to the microfilm edition
ref HXZ 7164 .S67 T3 1979
6. a. Socialist Party of America papers, 1897-1963 [microform] (Call No. Microfilm 000361)
(142 reels; 1919-1976 addendum, 38 reels)
b. -- Socialist Party of America Papers: a guide to the Microfilm Edition 1897-1964
ref HXZ 7164 .S67 D78 1975
-- Socialist Party of America papers, 1919-1976, addendum : a guide to the microfilm edition
ref HXZ 7164 .S67 D78 1977
How to Use the Microform Collection
The microform
collection does not contain index to articles. If you are looking for
articles on a subject, you need to search in resources that index these
journals or newspapers, such as 1969-2000
(print index) and Electronic
indexes and databases (1980s--). Not
every title is indexed in any guide,
so you might have to browse
the pages to find what you are
looking for.
If
you know the title of the publication or have a full citation of an
article, you can:
Search in our catalogue EUREKA
by title. It provides
information about the
microfilm
reel and item number
where the title will be found. For example, for Washington Blade, part
of EUREKA record reads " v. 22(1991).Contained in:
ALTERNATIVE PRESS COLLECTION. Unit 6 Reel 44-46."
If you do not get the reel and item number from EUREKA, do one of the
following.
For Alternative press collection [microform], consult Alternative
press: a guide to the microform collection [Print] PN
4784 .U53 A48 (1990 Unit 1-11, 1 SOUTH
Microform Collection).
This guide has 11 units, each containing reel list, periodical profiles and title list. The
reel list includes the publication place, the volume
number, the issue number, the inclusive dates and the reel number. You
might find some
publications in more than one unit or on different reels.
For Underground newspaper collection, consult Underground press
collection. Listing of contents.
(1963 - 85) PNZ 6944 .U5
U56 (2
North Reference / 1 South Micriform)
It provides an alphabetical list of titles that are available in Underground
newspaper collection. The guide includes the publication place, the volume
number, the issue number, the inclusive dates and the microfilm reel and item
number
where the title will be found. The material in Underground
newspaper collection was filmed in sections, e.g. 1965-1969. So one particular
publication may be located in
different sections on different reels. A table of contents is available
at the beginning of each reel.
For Right wing collection of the University of Iowa Libraries 1918-1977,
consult The right wing collection of the University of Iowa Libraries,
1918-1977 : a guide
to the microfilm collection [Print] 2 NORTH Reference
JKZ 6944 .P6 R51
This guide contains reel list, guide entries, subject index, geographical
index and chronological index. In the guide entries, the collection of serials and ephemerae is
arranged alphabetically by title or corporate author main entry. Each entry has been assigned an alpha-numeric entry
number which also serves as a frame number on the microfilm reels for that item. Also provided is the
last known frequency of publication, holdings statements, subject type(s) and a brief description
of the nature of the contents of each serial. Ephemerae may include correspondence, broadsides, leaflets,
pamphlets, and cartoons.
For
Radical pamphlet literature: a collection from the Tamiment
Library, 1817-1970 (Call No. Microfilm 008138), consult Guide to the microfilm edition of radical pamphlet
literature: a
collection from the amiment
Library, 1817 (1900-1945) 1970 HXZ 7164 .S67 G8
The pamphlets are arranged alphabetically by the last name of the author.
Each pamphlet is assigned a number. The numbering system corresponds to the alphabetical arrangement
of the pamphlets. When you get the pamphlet number, check the Brief Reel Listing for the reel where
the pamphlet is located.
For
Socialist collections in the Tamiment Library, 1872-1956 (Call No. Microfilm 000362),
consult Socialist collections in the Tamiment Library, 1872-1956: a guide to the microfilm edition
ref HXZ 7164 .S67 T3 1979.
This guide contains full citations for the 19 collections' contents as
well as the location of these contents on the microfilm. In general, each collection has been assigned a Roman
numeral (e.g. Collection II) and each subject file within a collection has been assigned an Arabic
numeral as frame number designations on the microfilm. For example, in Collection II, the information
"Reel 3 1. Constitution of the Social Democratic Party..." means that you will locate this file on Reel #3
in the section labeled "Series II: 1". Please note that "Series II" actually means "Collection
II".
-- For Socialist Party of America papers, 1897-1963 [microform] (Call
No. Microfilm 000361), consult Socialist Party of America Papers: a guide to the Microfilm
Edition 1897-1964 ref HXZ 7164 .S67 D78 1975
The papers are divided into five series (I--V)and each series or
subseries (A, B, C, etc.) is arranged chronologically by year, month, and day. Check the complete reel
list for the location of papers you are looking for. This guide also contains a brief reel list and index of
important correspondence.
-- For Socialist Party of America papers, 1919-1976, addendum, consult
Socialist Party of America papers, 1919-1976, addendum: a guide to the microfilm edition
ref HXZ 7164 .S67 D78 1977
This collection is
arranged in four series (A-D). Each folder or item has been assigned a
frame number e.g. A35H72. The first letter indicates the series (A, B,
C, D). The first number indicates the subject or folder heading (all
the numbers under the series correspond to the alphabetical arrangement
of subject or folder heading). The second letter indicates a folder
under the subject heading. In a very few cases there is a second
number shich indicates a further breakdown. The reel list shows the
location of the file on the microfilm.
References
Journals of dissent and social change : a bibliography of titles in the California State
University, Sacramento, Library
PNZ 6944 .S55 L5 1993 (2 North Reference)
Alternative
publications : a guide to directories, indexes,
bibliographies,
and other
sources
Z 1033 .L73 A45 1990
(2 North Reference)
Annotations : a guide to the independent
critical press
PN 4784 .U53 A565 1999 (2 North Reference)
Directory
of new age & alternative publications : an
international
directory of new
age & alternative
publications Z
1033 .U58 D573 1997 (2 North Reference)
The
American radical press, 1880-1960 HX
1 .A49 (2 South) (Essays
on various periodicals, many
having been written as
introductions for Greenwood Press' Radical reprint series)
Underground newspaper collection UM libraries
(1960s-70s) PNZ 6944 .U5 U563
(2 North Reference)
Includes annottions.
Undergrounds;
a union list of alternative periodicals in
libraries of the United States and Canada
PNZ 6944 .U5 D3 (2 North Reference)
Bibliography
on the American Left Re JAZ 7164 .P3 W24 1980 (2 North Reference)
Bibliography on the American Right Re JAZ 7164 .P3 W25 1980 (2 North Reference)
The
directory of British alternative periodicals, 1965-1974 PNZ
6956 .G6 N69(3
North)
EUREKA/Library Catalog
EUREKA is the CSUS library catalog at http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/. You can search items in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings. The following are the standard subject terms used in the catalog for alternative publications.
Underground Press Libertarianism
periodicals
Underground Press Publications Socialist Party (U.S.) -- History -- Sources
Communism -- Periodicals Radicalism -- Periodicals
Socialism -- Periodicals Radicalism United States Newspapers
Conservatism Periodicals Right and left (Political science) -- Periodicals
World Wide Web (online journals/magazines, etc.)
The American Prospect http://www.prospect.org/web/index.ww
On-line
edition. Archives cover issues back to 1999.
Boston Review http://www.bostonreview.net/
A
bimonthly magazine of cultural and political analysis, reviews, fiction, and
poetry. The archives cover issues back to Volume 1 in 1975.
Chartist
Magazine http://www.chartist.org.uk/
Chartist is a bimonthly journal of political features and
analysis covering mostly UK politics but also international
issues and special political areas.
Dissent http://www.dissentmagazine.org
Dissent is a quarterly magazine of politics and culture. Each
issue features reflective articles about politics in the U.S.,
incisive social and cultural commentary, plus coverage of
European politics.
The Humanist http://www.thehumanist.org/
”The Humanist applies
Humanism-a naturalistic and democratic outlook informed by
science, inspired by art, and motivated by compassion-to broad
areas of social and personal concern.”
Monthly
Review http://www.monthlyreview.org/
Published
since 1949
Moving Ideas http://www.movingideas.org/
posts ideas and resources from leading progressive research and
advocacy institutions. Includes Must-Reads: Primary Sources,
Periodicals, Liberal Links, Advocacy, Research, etc.
The Nation Digital Edition http://www.thenation.com
The digital edition of The Nation is published weekly and
includes some of the same features as the print version as well
as audio feeds, news briefs, etc. New material is added each
Thursday. Discussion of political and social questions
New Internationalist http://www.newint.org/
Report
on issues of world poverty and inequality; attention on the
unjust relationship between the powerful and the powerless in
both rich and poor nations; debate and campaign for the radical
changes necessary if the basic material and spiritual needs of
all are to be met
Online
Journal http://www.onlinejournal.com/
Covers media, politics, government, business, social issues.
People
for the American Way http://www.pfaw.org
“Advocate for the values and institutions that sustain a
diverse democratic society.”
The Progressive http://www.Progressive.org/
Online edition of "The Progressive" magazine. Covers
issues back to 1998.
Progressive
Populist http://www.populist.com
On issues of interest to workers, small business owners and
family farmers and ranchers. All issues from 1995.
Red
Pepper http://www.redpepper.org.uk/
Red Pepper is a political and cultural magazine for the
Left, published monthly in London.
Social Criticism Review http://www.socialcritic.org
Includes a selection of links to articles of social criticism on
technology, science, multinationals, politics.
Solidnet http://www.solidnet.org/
The activities and ideological and political views of various
Communist and Workers' Parties.
This
Magazine http://www.thismag.org/
Canada's alternative for politics and culture. This Magazine has
been bringing Canadians radical news and perspectives since
1966.
Utne Reader http://www.utne.com/
The on-line publication of Utne Reader . reprints articles from
over 2,000 alternative media sources.
World
Press Review http://www.worldpress.org/mission.htm
Founded in 1997, it covers the issues and debates that occupy
the world's newspapers and magazines.
Contact Librarian |
Contact Info Library Room 2014 2000 State University Drive East Sacramento, CA 95819 Phone: 916-278-6373 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
