Genealogy Resources at the Sacramento State University Library.
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2015
Text that describes what this guide section is used for.
Genealogists were among the early adopters of the Internet. It allows an incredible amount of information, previously only available in remote archives and libraries, to be scanned and made available to the public on the Web.
This abbreviated list of websites about this subjects, starting with local/regional resources, is not meant to replace the vast number of web resources created by genealogist themselves.
This subscription-based service is well worth the monthly or annual fee for serious genealogists. It contains "the world’s largest online family history resource — including historical records, photos, stories, family trees and a collaborative community of millions."
- Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Cyndi's List is probably the best know and most popular free resource page for genealogists on the web and has a sterling reputation since it was created in 1996. Contains almost 300,000 links (as of 2011) and is supported by ads and donations rather than membership fees.
- New England Historic Genealogical Society
NEHGS web site contains a variety of searchable databases to both paid members and guests.
- Root Cellar Index
Sacramento Genealogical Society
- California State Library - California Genealogy Resources
- California State Library Catalog - Basic Search
- Local History and Genealogy Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division, Library of Congress)
- National Archives Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians
- FamilySearch.org - Family History and Genealogy Records
- Federation of Genealogical Societies - About FGS
- U.S. Surname Distribution
Quick and fun look at how occurrences of your surname has spread in the US.
- Ellis Island - FREE Port of New York Passenger Records Search
Excellent for passenger lists of those immigrants arriving at Ellis Island, New York. Provides free download of common forms such as pedigree charts, family group sheets etc.
- 40 Places to Find Vital Records
- Family Genealogy and History Internet Education Directory
Professional, worldwide humanities and social sciences mega portal, connected directly to numerously
related sub-sets, with billions of primary or secondary database family history and genealogy records.