This is the "Research on Selected Topics" page of the "Ethnic Studies Asian American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ethnic Studies Asian American Studies   Tags: asian_americans, chinese_americans, ethnic_studies, hmong, japanese_americans, vietnamese_americans  

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/AsianAmericans Print Guide RSS Updates

Research on Selected Topics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Researching: The Japanese Internment

Tips for researching: The Japanese Internment During the Second World War

Use the right words to find books:

While we call it the Japanese Internment, the Library of Congress uses Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and Relocation -- 1942-1945

Remember, keyword searches look for the words and ignores the concept. Subject searches are looking for the concept.


Another search term used in relation to the Japanese Internment is World War 1939 1945 Concentration Camps United States 


Another search strategy is to search EUREKA by the name of the camp.


Examine the following bibliography, a collection of sources, on the Japanese Internment:

Japanese American Internment During World War II: A History and Reference Guide 2002 D 769.8 .A6 N4 2002


Look at biographical sources and oral histories:

Search EUREKA using:

A subject search in EUREKA for Japanese Americans -- Biography (Note: Not all sources are related to the Japanese Internment)

A keyword search in EUREKA for Internment and Biography (Note: Not all sources are related to the Japanese Internment)

A subject search in EUREKA for Japanese Americans -- California -- Interviews (Note: Not all sources are related to the Japanese Internment)

A keword search in EUREKA for Japanese Americans and Oral History (Note: Not all sources are related to the Japanese Internment)

Explore the Japanese American Archival Collection (JAAC) Digital Collection at Sacramento State:

View the JAAC Digital collection


Explore online resources related to the Japanese Internment:

Sacramento State University Reseach Guide: Japanese Americans in the Sacramento Region and California

National Archives and Records Administration: Japanese Relocation and Internment During World War II

Search in Google (limited to the domain .gov)

Search in Google (limited to the domain .edu)


Use the databases below to find articles on the Japanese Internment or contact a Librarian for more advanced research options! Contact me, or find one by subject here.

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) is a solid starting place for most research topics. The database indexes thousands of scholarly journals. To limit your search to academic journals, click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Box before you enter your search terms.
  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)
    America: History & Life is the major database on American history from pre-history to the present.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a journal archive with thousands of full-text articles. However, because of its archival nature, there will generally be a three to five year window in the currency of the articles. Be sure to explore titles under the Discipline(s) and/or Title(s) Asian Studies to limit the scope of your search.
  • Historial Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Historical Abstracts is the database on World history from 1450 to the present.
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
    Search the abstracts and full-text of selected Sociological journals to find research materials on your topic.
  • Project Muse

Researching: The Hmong in America

Tips for researching: The Hmong in America


Use the right words to find books:

Start with a bibliography, a collection of sources, on the Hmong:

A Bibliography of Cambodian, Hmong, Lao, and Vietnamese Americans 1992 Z 1361.I53 B53 1992

Hmong-related Works, 1996-2006: An Annotated Bibliography 2007 DSZ 3008 .H65 P44 2007

The Hmong: An Annotated Bibliography, 1983-1987 1988 EZ 184 .H55 S54 1988

The Hmong, 1987-1995: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography 1996 Z 3008 .H65 S63 1996


Look at biographical sources:

A Free People: Tracing Our Hmong Roots 2003 E 184 .H55 F74 2003

Educating New Americans: Hmong Immigrant Lives and Learning 2000 E 184 .H55 H66 2000

Hmong and American: Stories of Transition to a Strange Land 2004 E 184 .H55 M68 2004

Hmong Lives: from Laos to La Crosse: Stories of Eight Hmong Elders = Hmoob Neej: Tuaj Los Tsuas Rau La Crosse: Lub Neej Ntawm 8 Tus Laus Neeg Hmoob 1994 F 589 .L2 H66 1994

The Latehomecomer: A Hmong Family Memoir 2008 E 184 .H55 Y36 2008

View statistical sources:

Hmong National Development Inc, 2004 Hmong 2000 Census Publication

United States Census Bureau, 2007 The American Community: Asians 2004


Explore The Hmong Studies Journal:


Online via Ethnic Newswatch - 1996 - Present

Online via Free E- Journals - 1996 - Present


Use the databases below to find articles on the Hmong in America or contact a Librarian for more advanced research options! Contact me, or find one by subject here.

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) is a solid starting place for most research topics. The database indexes thousands of scholarly journals. To limit your search to academic journals, click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Box before you enter your search terms.
  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)
    America: History & Life is the major database on American history from pre-history to the present.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a journal archive with thousands of full-text articles. However, because of its archival nature, there will generally be a three to five year window in the currency of the articles. Be sure to explore titles under the Discipline(s) and/or Title(s) Asian Studies to limit the scope of your search.
  • Historial Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Historical Abstracts is the database on World history from 1450 to the present.
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
    Search the abstracts and full-text of selected Sociological journals to find research materials on your topic.
  • Project Muse

California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip