Research Guides: Ethnic Studies African American Studies: Research on Selected Topics

Using OneSearch to find books on the African Diaspora

Finding articles on the African Diaspora

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) is a solid starting place for most research topics. The database indexes thousands of scholarly journals. To limit your search to academic journals, click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Box before you enter your search terms.

Explore the Spring 2010 Special Issue of the Journal of African American History "Explorations within the African Diaspora"

Journal of African American History, 95 (2), Spring 2010

Use the databases below to find articles on the African Diaspora or contact a Librarian for more advanced research options! Contact me, or find one by subject here.

America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America: History & Life is the major database on American history from pre-history to the present. Use it to find articles related to the African American experience in the United States.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a journal archive with thousands of full-text articles. However, because of its archival nature, there will generally be a three to five year window in the currency of the articles. Be sure to explore titles under the Discipline(s) and/or Title(s) African American Studies to limit the scope of your search.
Historial Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts is the database on World history from 1450 to the present.
Atla Religion Database (EBSCO)
Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
Search the abstracts and full-text of selected Sociological journals to find research materials on your topic.
MLA Bibliography (EBSCO)
Project Muse

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2024 3:11 PM