This is the "Find Articles & Journals" page of the "Ethnic Studies African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ethnic Studies African American Studies   Tags: african_diaspora, african_studies, black_studies, ethnic_studies  

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/africanamerican Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles & Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Selected databases for articles in African American Studies:

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) is a solid starting place for most research topics. The database indexes thousands of scholarly journals. To limit your search to academic journals, click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Box before you enter your search terms.
  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)
    America: History & Life is the major database on American history from pre-history to the present. Use it to find articles related to the African American experience in the United States.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a journal archive with thousands of full-text articles. However, because of its archival nature, there will generally be a three to five year window in the currency of the articles. Be sure to explore titles under the Discipline(s) and/or Title(s) African American Studies to limit the scope of your search.
  • Historial Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Historical Abstracts is the database on World history from 1450 to the present.
  • PsycINFO (EBSCO)
    Explore the psychological literature on your topic by using PsycINFO.
  • ERIC
    Search ERIC to find education-related information on your topic.
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
    Search the abstracts and full-text of selected Sociological journals to find research materials on your topic.
  • Ethnic Newswatch (Proquest)
    Browse through this online collection of newspapers. Utilize options like Ethnic Group to make your search more relevant.
  • Genderwatch (Proquest)
  • ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
  • Project Muse
  • MLA Bibliography (EBSCO)

Journals

Selected Journals in African American Studies

  • African American Review
    PAPER: v.26(1992)-v.38(2005)
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 1992
    Online via JSTOR Arts and Sciences I from 1992 through 2009
    Online via Project MUSE from 2009
  • Black Issues in Higher Education
    Online via EBSCOhost Education Full Text from 1996 until 2005
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 1996 until 2005
    Online Selected full-text via LexisNexis Academic from 2002 (There is only selected full text available)
  • Black Music Research Journal
    Online via JSTOR Arts and Sciences III from 1980
    (Most recent 3 year(s) not available)
    Online from Project MUSE from 2010
  • The Black Scholar
    PAPER: v.1(1969)-v.34:no.3(2004:Fall)
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 1991
    Online via JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI 1969 until 2009
  • Callaloo
    PAPER: v.12(1989)-v.27(2004)
    Online via JSTOR Arts and Sciences I from 1976 until 2007 Online via Project MUSE from 1995
  • Harvard Journal of African American Public Policy
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 2004 (Most recent 3 month(s) not available)
  • International Review of African American Art and Black Art
    International Review of African American Art
    Paper v. 6(1984)-v.23(2010/11).
    Online via EBSCOhost Art Full Text from 1998 until 2010

    Black Art
    Paper v. 1(1976)*-5(1981)
  • Journal of African American History
    Paper v.87(2002)-
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 2002 until 2011
    Online via JSTOR Arts and Sciences I from 2002
    (Most recent 3 year(s) not available)
  • Journal of African American Studies
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 2003 (Most recent 1 year(s) not available)
    Online via SpringerLink Journals from 1997
  • Journal of Black Psychology
    Online via SAGE Deep Backfile Package 2011 from 1978 until 1998
    Online via SAGE 2008 from 1999
  • Journal of Black Studies
    PAPER: v. 1(1970)-v.26:no.2(1995:Nov)
    Online via SAGE Deep Backfile Package 2011 from 1970 until 1998
    Online via SAGE 2008 from 1999
    Online via JSTOR Arts and Sciences I from 1970until 2009

  • Journal of Negro Education
    PAPER: v. 1(1932)-39(1970),41(1972) -
    Online via EBSCOhost Education Full Text from 1994
    Online via JSTOR Arts and Sciences I from 1932 until 2009
  • National Black Law Journal and The Black Law Journal
    The Black Law Journal
    PAPER: V. 1(1971) - 9:3(1986:Win)

    National Black Law Journal
    PAPER: v. 10:no.1(1987:Win) -v.20(2007)
    Online via LexisNexis Academic from 2004 until 2008
  • Slavery & Abolition
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 2004 (Most recent 1 year(s) 6 month(s) not available)
  • Western Journal of Black Studies
    PAPER: v.10(1986)-v.29(2005)
    Online via Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) from 1996

Search Google Scholar




California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip