Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017
Animal Diversity Web
Contains species accounts--not necessarily for threatened or endangered species, but if your species is in here, it will be helpful.
Center For Biological Diversity
Useful links to national and international issues, events and news. Also links to an online publication, "Endangered Earth."
Encyclopedia of Life
Information and pictures of all species known to science. If you are looking for inspiration, do a search on "endangered species."
Information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
World Wildlife Fund
CA Natural Diversity Database
The most up to date information on CA plants and animals. This database inventories the status and locations of rare plants and animals in California.
CA Rare Plant Program CAL-Atlas
Allows you to create maps using a variety of data sources including vegetation, wetlands, watersheds, urban areas, soils, farmlands, and more.
California's Endangered Insects
From the Essig Museum of Entomology at UC Berkley.
Use the database to find out more about a plant, or choose a location and learn what grows there via the Observation Library.
The Status of Rare, Threatened and Endangered Plants and Animals of CA 2000-2004
Use the CA Natural Diversity Database (CNDDB) for the most current lists
Ideas for CA Endangered Species from FWS
Use this website to help narrow your search: plants, animals, amphian, birds etc. and then browse. Lots of useful info
IUCN LIst of Threatened Species
From the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources, this database provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on all kinds of species. NOTE: Read the introduction for what is and is NOT included in the database
CITES -Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora
An international agreement, administered by the UN, the aim of which "is to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival."
The site maintains a species database, searchable by country, that has distribution, status, photos and references to the literature. Traffic The Wildlife Trade Monitoring Network
Focus is on illegal trade however the linked publications often have species information. Search for: birds, fish, invertebrates, mammals, plants, reptiles and amphibians.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
The environmental voice of the United Nation. Both legal and scientific information.