Skip to main content

Bio 1: Library Research for Science Students

4. What is a Library Database?

We have access to thousands of scholarly articles, newspapers, and popular magazines. How do you find the ones you need?  With so many to choose from, it can all seem a bit confusing. 

RMIT University Library  

Video 1:37 [and narrator has a lovely Australian accent]

5. Using Article Databases: Environmental Index (EBSCO)

Environmental Index is a good database to search for biodiversity topics. The database contains technical as well as less scholarly articles.

Use the forward and backward arrows at the bottom of the slide show to navigate through it.

6. Databases: Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts is the best database when searching for primary articles in biology. These 9 slides will walk you through the process. Search tips included!

Getting Started From MySacState

7. Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that searches for scholarly articles. It is great when you have a citation and need to get the article, but doesn't work so great when you are at the beginning of a search.

You must change some settings on your home computer so that the Find It@SacState link will display, allowing you to move from the ciation to the complete article.

Optional Advanced Searching Tip: Google Scholar has a Cited Search feature (as do many other databases) that allows you to take a known citation and see if anyone else has cited it. For more information follow this link

8. If We don't Have It...How to Get It

It's easy, fast and free.

Articles from journals which the Sacramento State Library does not have a subscription to can be requested through the free Interlibrary loan service. We will get a copy for you which will most often be delivered in electronic format.

1. Start at the Interlibrary Loan page: http://library.csus.edu/interlibrary-loan​ and select Interlibrary Loan.

2, Login anc create your user profile

3. Once you have an ILLiad account you can start submitting requests for  articles, videos, etc. that the library doesn't own.

FAQ's:: http://library.csus.edu/interlibrary-loan 

 

 

Walkthrough--Finding Biology Journal Articles

Wrapup Test