Expanded coverage starting summer 2018! Now includes 700 Industry Market Research reports, hundreds of Specialized Industries reports, and several dozen California-specific reports. Each report is 20-30 pages.
Covers select consumer, energy, and transportation markets. The industry profiles identify market size and segmentation, competitive landscape and provide forecast data of market performance and trends. Click "Industry" tab to get started.
S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys
Provides an overview of 52 major industries and includes major competitors. Available in print at 2 North Reference HG 4921 .S65
Access provided by IRT. The Information Technology Portal from Gartner provides market research reports, product lifecycle analysis, vendor ratings, and research articles for the field of information technology.
Very selective coverage, but for the businesses covered information includes industry trends, market statistics, customer demographics, recent business articles, and links to industry trade associations.
Fundamental to conducting industry research is the classification of economic activity. The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system is widely used to classify US economic activity. This system was developed by the Office of Management and Budget and is still used by the SEC as well as in some business information publications.
In 1997, a new system of classification was instituted incorporating Canada, Mexico and the United States and was called the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced "nakes" which rhymes with "snakes"). Today NAICS is used by the Census Bureau's Economic Census and in many business publications.