Skip to main content

Chemistry

Chemistry Teaching & Learning Databases

Use these indexes to locate journal articles. The databases overlap to varying degrees. Best practice is to search in a large database (SciFinder, PubMed, Engineering Village, Biological Abstracts, Agricola, etc.).

Citation Indexes

Style Guides

We cite sources to acknowledge the work of others, as well as to avoid academic dishonesty or plagiarism.  There are various formats for citing sources and your instructor will tell you which to follow.

Bioconjugate Author Guidelines

Chem 200 Research Methods in Chemistry Spring 2019

Finding author guidelines in the journal Bioconjugate Chemistry.

Go to the journal’s homepage: http://pubs.acs.org/journal/bcches

  1. Open the Submission & Review tab. Open Author Guidelines [PDF] (it’s 15 pages long)
  2. Look for Manuscript Preparation and open Manuscript Text Components and scroll to page 6, References. This section is duplicated below.
  3. Locate abbreviations for journal titles in CASSI: http://cassi.cas.org/search.jsp

From the Bioconjugate Chemistry website: http://pubs.acs.org/paragonplus/submission/bcches/bcches_authguide.pdf

References

All the references and footnotes must be placed together in a list at the end of the manuscript text. In the Web edition, many of them will have links to other Web resources, such as the corresponding abstracts in Chemical Abstracts and the full text on publisher Web sites. Because of this electronic linking, and to aid scientific research, it is crucial that authors verify the accuracy of all reference citations and footnotes.

Unnecessarily long lists of references should be avoided, and excessive self-citation is strongly discouraged. However, authors must reference all previous publications in which portions of the present work have appeared. Literature references and explanatory footnotes must be numbered with Arabic numerals in the order of their first citation in the text and the corresponding numbers placed at the appropriate locations in the text as superscripted numerals without parentheses or bracket.

The title of the article must be included in the reference, as shown in the following examples: For periodicals, follow the format shown:

Fritzberg, A. R., Abrams, P. G., Beaumier, P. L., Kasina, S., Morgan, A. C., Reno, J. M., Sanderson, J. A., Srinivasan, A., Wilbur, D. S., and Vanderheyden, J. (1988) Specific and stable labeling of antibodies with technetium-99m with a diamide dithiolate chelating agent. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 85, 4025–4029.

Inclusive pagination is preferred. Titles of journals are abbreviated according to Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index. Serial publications such as Methods in Enzymology and C.R.C. Critical Reviews should be listed in the same form as journals. For journal articles accessed online prior to print publication, please provide the DOI number.

For books, follow the format shown: Aida, T., and Jiang, D.-L. (2000) Dendrimer porphyrins and metalloporphyrins: syntheses, structures and functions. The Porphyrin Handbook. Volume 3: Inorganic, Organometallic and Coordination (Kadish, K. M., Smith, K. M., and Guilard, R., Eds.) pp 369–384, Chapter 23, Academic Press, New York.

Submitted manuscripts should be designated as “in press” only if formally accepted for publication; otherwise “unpublished results” should be used.