Research Guides: Nutrition: Databases and Journals

Databases

The databases listed below are recommended for locating articles on nutrition. Access additional databases for research in Family and Consumer Science.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
... all-subject database includes articles from 1975 to present.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
...covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed (NCBI)
PubMed indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
'...summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840...'

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Open Access Peer-Reviewed Journals

These journals are free to access and do not require a paid subscription.

Preventing Chronic Disease
Sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and authored by experts worldwide. PCD was established with a mission to promote dialogue among researchers, practitioners, and policy makers worldwide on the integration and application of research findings and practical experience to address health disparities, advance health equity, and improve population health.
International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity
IJBNPA is devoted to furthering the understanding of the behavioral aspects of diet and physical activity and is unique in its inclusion of multiple levels of analysis, including populations, groups and individuals and its inclusion of epidemiology, and behavioral, theoretical and measurement research areas.
Public Health Nutrition
Publication and dissemination of research and scholarship aimed at understanding the causes of, and approaches and solutions to, nutrition-related public health achievements, situations and problems around the world.
Nutrients
Nutrients is a peer-reviewed, open access journal of human nutrition published semimonthly online.
Journal of Human Sciences and Extension
Topics addressed include human development (e.g., early care and education, youth development); family studies; agricultural education; leadership development; extension; health and wellness; apparel, textiles, and merchandising; nutrition and dietetics; family resource management; and program and staff development, planning, and evaluation.
JAMA Network Open
JAMA Network Open is an open access general medical journal that publishes research on clinical care, innovation in health care, health policy, and global health across all health disciplines and countries for clinicians, investigators, and policy makers.
BMJ Open
An open access journal dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas.

Subscription Peer-Reviewed Journals

These journals require payment to access them, and sometimes offer select content free of charge. The Library subscribes to many of these journals to make them available to Sac State students and employees for free. The journals with one asterisk (*) below are free to access through the Library using your Sac State account. Journals with two asterisks (**) are free to access, with the exception of the most recent year's articles. Use OneSearch to search for a specific journal article and see its access options, and feel free to reach out to us if you need any help.

*Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior
The official peer-reviewed journal of the Society for Nutrition Education and Behavior serves as a global resource to advance nutrition education and behavior related research, practice, and policy.
*Journal of Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Publishes articles about the practice and science of food, nutrition, and dietetics.
Childhood Obesity
Informs clinical care, supports health equity, influences public health and health care services, affects health policy change, and translates science advances across audiences, all to improve the physical and mental health of children, adolescents, and families affected by obesity.
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
JAMA's mission is to promote the science and art of medicine and the betterment of the public health.
*The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
Publishes the latest research on topics in nutrition, such as obesity, vitamins and minerals, nutrition and disease, and energy metabolism.
*Annual Review of Nutrition
Covers the significant developments in the field of nutrition, including energy metabolism, carbohydrates, lipids, proteins and amino acids, vitamins, minerals, nutrient transport and function, metabolic regulation, nutritional genomics, molecular and cell biology, clinical nutrition, comparative nutrition, nutritional anthropology, nutritional toxicology, nutritional microbiology, epidemiology, and public health nutrition.
**The Journal of Nutrition
Covers all aspects of experimental nutrition in humans and other animal species.
Journal of Foodservice Business Research
Features articles from international experts in various disciplines, including management, marketing, finance, law, food technology, nutrition, psychology, information systems, anthropology, human resources, and more.
*The Journal of Child Nutrition and Management
Research findings and other relevant information applicable to school nutrition programs on a wide variety of topics such as nutrition standards, nutrition education, administration, operations, food production and service, food safety and marketing.
*Nutrition in Clinical Practice
Articles about the scientific basis and clinical application of nutrition and nutrition support.
*Food Policy
A multidisciplinary journal publishing original research and novel evidence on issues in the formulation, implementation, and evaluation of policies for the food sector in developing, transition, and advanced economies.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for references to scholarly articles and research papers. Sometimes the full text is posted online and linked, other times users will see a "Find It at Sac State" option next to the Google Scholar listing (see explanation above). Follow these instructions to configure Google Scholar to display the "Find It at Sac State" link. Except for the most simple queries, using Google Scholar Advanced Search is recommended.

Last Updated: Jul 26, 2023 3:05 PM