Skip to main content

Juvenile Literature: Selected Resources

Folk and Fairy Tales in Collections

Many folk and fairy tales are published in collections, some grouped by country or theme.  The directories below allow users to look up a theme or country and see a list of tales that meet the desired criteria.  Looking up a tale name results in a list of the collections that contain the tale.

Index to Fairy Tales, Including Folklore, Legends and Myths in Collections
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile 016.39 .I38 1989

Index to fairy tales, 1987-1992 : including 310 collections of fairy tales, folktales, myths, and legends
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile 016.39 .I38 1994

Handbooks/Helpful Guides

Black authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults : a biographical dictionary
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile  920 .M9787b

Black books galore! : guide to great African American children's books
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.973 .R1863bg 

Black Books Galore!--guide to great African American children's books about girls
2 NORTH REFERENCE
Z 1361 .N39 R336 2001

Books by African-American authors and illustrators for children and young adults
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
028.5 .W7235b

China and Chinese culture : a selected bibliography to promote a better understanding : preschool to grade 12
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.951 .C5393

Literature for children about Asians and Asian Americans : analysis and annotated bibliography, with additional readings for adults
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
028.5 .J525k

A comprehensive guide to children's literature with a Jewish theme
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile 
028.5 .D2615c

Children's and young adult literature by Latino writers : a guide for librarians, teachers, parents, and students
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.8108 .Y638c

Picture books by Latino writers : a guide for librarians, teachers, parents, and students
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
810.8 .Y638p

A broken flute : the Native experience in books for children
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
970.004 .S4381b

Through Indian eyes : the native experience in books for children
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
970.1 .T5317 

Books about the Middle East : selecting and using them with children and adolescents 
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
015.56 .A316  

Against borders : promoting books for a multicultural world
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
011.62 .R6795a  

Cultural mosaics : an annotated bibliography of multicultural resources for the K-12 classroom
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.3058 .B7115c

Culturally diverse library collections for children
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.3058 .T7194c

A Hispanic heritage : a guide to juvenile books about Hispanic people and cultures
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile 
028.5 .S371h

Many peoples, one land : a guide to new multicultural literature for children and young adults
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.81 .H4742m

Kaleidoscope : a multicultural booklist for grades K-8
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.3058 .K143 2003 

Multicultural literature for children and young adults. Vol. 2, 1991-1996 : a selected listing of books by and about people of color
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
028.5 .C38629 1997

 Multicultural picture books : art for understanding others
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.62 .M3113m

Multiethnic children's literature
2 SOUTH REFERENCE Juvenile
016.3058 .R1735m