Research Guides: NUFD 114: Cultural Apects of Food: Articles

Article Databases

Articles can be identified by searching in one of the Library databases. Try one of these databases or the Subject list of Databases or the A-Z list of Databases to find a database.

AGRICOLA Article Citation Database (NAL)
Includes citations to journal articles, books reports, etc. from the National Agriculture Library. Switch from the default basic search to a keyword search for better results. There is no "Find It" link within Agricola, so you will need to use the Article Citation Linker, or EUREKA to determine if we own a publication.
America: History and Life (1964-date)
Includes bibliographic references to the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1964-date
Anthropology Plus

eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Not the easiest to use but it delves into the literature of different cultural groups.

Sociological Abstracts (CSA)
All aspects of sociology including feeding, family, and diet.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
JSTOR (All Subjects)
JSTOR is an independent not-for-profit organization which provides an electronic archive to specific scholarly journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Artstor images also included.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Often finds articles related to nutrition, but you may find a gem! Full text and often very technical.

Finding the Actual Article

Many of the databases will only provide you with a citation. To retreive the full text of an article from within most databases,
use the Find It @SacState which can usually be found at the end of a database record summary.

Cheat Sheet: From Database to Article
A series of pictures to show you how to get to the full text of an article. Steps 7-10 may be the most relevant.
Locating Articles: Online or Print
Explains the steps to find an article online (full text) or in print when you are in a database, or have a citation.

Hints

To find a specific journal use the Journal Search to find the specific journal title you need.
To improve your database search results try using the truncation symbol. Truncation symbols vary by database, but the usual suspects are an asterisk * exclamation mark ! or a pound # sign. Click for an explanation from EbscoHost databases.
A great way to see what the latest research is in any subject area is to select a journal (online of course, using the Journal Titles list) and then browsing the table of contents.

Here are some of the journals on food that you can search via the Journal tab

Food Policy
Food Quality & Preference
more...less...
The journal's coverage includes geographical, cultural and individual differences in food preferences
Agriculture and Human Values
more...less...
The journal publishes papers that document, examine, and critically question the values and relationships that characterize both conventional and alternative approaches to the agri-food system – from production, processing, distribution, access, and use to waste management.
Appetite
more...less...
Appetite is an international research journal specializing in behavioural nutrition and the cultural, sensory, and physiological influences on choices and intakes of foods and drinks. It covers normal and disordered eating and drinking, dietary attitudes and practices and all aspects of the bases of human and animal behaviour toward food.

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2023 10:06 AM