Skip to main content

Architectural History

Online Encyclopedia Collections:

 

Search Oxford Reference Online  

Oxford Reference Online Premium is a collection of more than 134 subject dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Together they cover a wide range of fields including architecture, business, computing, environmental science, economics, history, and law, among many others.


 

Oxford Art Online contains over 45,000 articles and over 40,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Updates, new articles and new image links are added regularly.


Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other research materials covering wide range of disciplines that can be searched and read online. Click the GVRL image above to access multiple encyclopedia entries related to architectural history.

Print Encyclopedias:

Image result for Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture


Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture, 3 volumes

Articles on buildings include designer name(s), date of completion, and location and often describe design features, architectural themes and influences, and challenges in design. (-Booklist Review)

Image result for Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture


Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture

Presents some 750 "most important and iconic buildings" from throughout the past century and from 97 nations. (-Library Journal Review)

Image result for Elements of Architectural Design: A Photographic Sourcebook

 

Elements of Architectural Design: A Photographic Sourcebook

Offers quick access to thousands of ideas, terms, and photographs related to the essential elements of architectural design. (-Wiley)