Skip to main content
My Sac State
Find A Person or Department
Faculty Web Pages
My Library Account
Articles, Books & More
Research & Collections
Start Your Research
Use Your Library
Teaching & Classroom Support
Publishing & Scholarship Support
Services for Students
Services for Faculty
Services for Visitors
Study Rooms & Carrels
Special Collections & University Archives
Library Media Center
Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection Rooms
Sokiku Nakatani Tea Room
University Library Art Gallery
Spotlight & Events
Giving to the Library
Strategic Plan & Diversity Statement
Research Guides & Tutorials
Enter Search Words
Databases, Articles & Journals
Videos and Podcasts
Quick Library Links
College of Education Information
The College of Education is located in room 206 Eureka Hall. Telephone - 278-9939.
Five Steps to Successful Research
1. Read an essay by an expert on your subject to learn important names , dates , and terminology to use in further searching. References at the end of the essay often list the core research articles on the topic.
Tools: Specialized handbooks and encyclopedias
2. Find books on your topic
3. Find peer-reviewed articles on your topic
Tools: Databases, Articles, & Journals (TAB above)
4. Consider specialized sources such as:
Statistical information (
r) or (
CSUS theses/projects/dissertations (TAB above) or (
on Library homepage)
Government publications (
) or (
HINT: When searching the Internet via google advanced, limit domain to: .edu, .gov, .org for scholarly results
5. Evaluate your material: Top 10 Questions to Ask Yourself
1.) Intended audience - general, specialist, student?
2.) Purpose: inform, entertain, persuade?
3.) Author's credentials: affiliation, education, occupation, publications?
4.) Publisher: learned society, research institution, commercial, private, political
5.) Refereed, reviewed, or edited journal?
6.) Documentation: sources cited, bibliography, list of references?
For Internet Web sources, in addition to the above ask yourself:
7.) What is the value of the Web site compared to the range of other sources available on
8.) When was the Web item produced and last revised - currency?
9.) Does the text follow basic rules of grammar, spelling, composition?
10.) Is contact information for the author included in the document?