Spreadsheets are aggregated data from a wide variety of published sources, intended for analytic use include crime, justice & sociodemographic variables (often contain data over time and by jurisdiction).
Most of these files are in .csv format which can be easily read by most spreadsheet and statistical programs, & many word processors. A few of the holdings are a collection of files which are archived into one .zip file to facilitate transfer from the Internet.
Resources on juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. Data sets include, but are not limited to, the characteristics of violent juvenile offenders, student victimization at school, sexual activity, and substance use.
For each data set, the Compendium includes descriptions under the following headings:
Summary: initiating organization, goals, and the duration of the data collection effort.
Sampling: whether the data come from a sample rather than a census or public records and, if so, relevant features of the sample design, such as stratification and clustering.
Data collection procedures: administration of the data collection effort.
Instrumentation: the protocol that guides data collection, such as forms, questionnaires, or record formats, including images of the data collection instruments, if available.
Key variables: of particular interest to juvenile justice research.
Quality controls: efforts to ensure the accuracy of reported data.
Periodicity: whether and at what intervals new data are added.
Representativeness: the population that the data describe. For example, the population described by the National Youth Risk Behavior Survey is public and private school students in grades 9-12 in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
Data access procedures: from whom the data are available and restrictions on data access.
Publications: links to a sample of publications that use the data.
Contacts: sources for further information about data content, structure, or availability.
Enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system. Developed for OJJDP by the National Center for Juvenile Justice, SBB provides timely and reliable statistical answers to the most frequently asked questions from policymakers, the media, and the general public. In addition, the data analysis and dissemination tools available through SBB give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.
files to this page as they become available. The datasets listed on this page are: "raw" or unaggregated data intended for analytic use include crime, justice and sociodemographic variables. Categories include: Corrections, Courts and sentencing, Law Enforcement, & Victimization.
comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system. FCCPS tool is an interface that can be used to analyze federal case processing data. Users can generate various statistics in the areas of federal law enforcement, prosecution/courts and incarcerations, and based on title and section of the U.S. Criminal Code. Data are available for the years from 1998 to 2013. This tool includes offenders held for violating federal laws. It excludes commitments from the D.C. Superior Court.
The California State University Social Science Research and Instructional Center provides support for CSU student, faculty, and staff users of subscription data bases from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the Field Poll, and the Roper Center, as well as of unrestricted data bases.
Mission: to facilitate research in criminal justice & criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, & sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; & through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime & justice data.
Is the only comprehensive electronic clearinghouse of its kind. It contains information on Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) research and activities, and is designed to inform criminal justice researchers, practitioners, and policymakers by summarizing these activities, which are undertaken by the SACs on a broad range of justice issues.
Statistical Analysis Centers are state agencies that conduct objective analyses to meet critical planning needs and address statewide and systemwide criminal justice policy issues. JRSA surveys the SACs annually to determine the types of research and analytical activities in which they are involved, and the types of publications they produce. Survey results are entered into this Infobase.
ISAR doesn't provide statistics but identified agencies that can provide data.