Skip to main content

Political Science: Alternative & Non-Mainstream Publications

Google Search

Websites

The American Prospect http://www.prospect.org/web/index.ww
On-line edition. Archives cover issues back to 1999.

Boston Review http://www.bostonreview.net/
A bimonthly magazine of cultural and political analysis, reviews, fiction, and poetry. The archives cover issues back to Volume 1 in 1975.

Chartist Magazine http://www.chartist.org.uk/
Chartist is a bimonthly journal of political features and analysis covering mostly UK politics but also international issues and special political areas.

Dissent http://www.dissentmagazine.org
Dissent is a quarterly magazine of politics and culture. Each issue features reflective articles about politics in the U.S., incisive social and cultural commentary, plus coverage of European politics.

The Humanist http://www.thehumanist.org/
”The Humanist applies Humanism-a naturalistic and democratic outlook informed by science, inspired by art, and motivated by compassion-to broad areas of social and personal concern.”

Monthly Review http://www.monthlyreview.org/
Published since 1949

Moving Ideas http://www.movingideas.org/
posts ideas and resources from leading progressive research and advocacy institutions. Includes Must-Reads: Primary Sources, Periodicals, Liberal Links, Advocacy, Research, etc.

The Nation Digital Edition http://www.thenation.com
The digital edition of The Nation is published weekly and includes some of the same features as the print version as well as audio feeds, news briefs, etc. New material is added each Thursday. Discussion of political and social questions

New Internationalist http://www.newint.org/
Report on issues of world poverty and inequality; attention on the unjust relationship between the powerful and the powerless in both rich and poor nations; debate and campaign for the radical changes necessary if the basic material and spiritual needs of all are to be met

Online Journal http://www.onlinejournal.com/
Covers media, politics, government, business, social issues.

People for the American Way http://www.pfaw.org
“Advocate for the values and institutions that sustain a diverse democratic society.”

The Progressive http://www.Progressive.org/
Online edition of "The Progressive" magazine. Covers issues back to 1998.

Progressive Populist http://www.populist.com
On issues of interest to workers, small business owners and family farmers and ranchers. All issues from 1995. 

Red Pepper http://www.redpepper.org.uk/
Red Pepper is a political and cultural magazine for the Left, published monthly in London.

Social Criticism Review http://www.socialcritic.org
Includes a selection of links to articles of social criticism on technology, science, multinationals, politics.

Solidnet http://www.solidnet.org/
The activities and ideological and political views of various Communist and Workers' Parties.

This Magazine http://www.thismag.org/
Canada's alternative for politics and culture. This Magazine has been bringing Canadians radical news and perspectives since 1966.

Utne Reader http://www.utne.com/
The on-line publication of Utne Reader . reprints articles from over 2,000 alternative media sources.

World Press Review http://www.worldpress.org/mission.htm 
Founded in 1997, it covers the issues and debates that occupy the world's newspapers and magazines.
 

Contact Librarian

Hong Wang
Social Sciences Librarian
Library Room 2002
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819

Phone: 916-278-6373
Send Email

Subjects:
Political Science, International Relations, Public Policy and Administration