Skip to main content

Political Science: Alternative & Non-Mainstream Publications

Databases

The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many of which are full-text. They are available from the Library Homepage by selecting Database & Article Searching. These databases are accessible from library Network Stations and from campus computer labs. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions at  Connecting to Library Databases from Off-Campus.

       Alternative Press Index (1991 to present)
       Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.  Includes selected abstracts from research journals.

        Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest)  (Full text 1990s to present)
       
An interdisciplinary resource comprising the newspapers, magazines and journals of the  alternative and independent press.  

        Left Index (EBSCO)  (1982 & earlier to present)
        Provides access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically  and culturally engaged scholarship and a secondary emphasis on significant but  little known  sources of news and ideas.           

Print sources

Alternative press index  HNZ 7164 .S66 A5  
        (1969-1990 2 North Reference/ 1991-2000 2 North Index Area)

      An exhaustive bibliography of more than 300 periodicals with concise annotations that fill
  out the history, ideology and unique features of each. 
The Left Index. 1982-1999.  JAZ 7164 .P3 L4 (Lower Level) Print format ceased;
         Continued  online
      

Contact Librarian

Hong Wang
Social Sciences Librarian
Library Room 2002
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819

Phone: 916-278-6373
Send Email

Subjects:
Political Science, International Relations, Public Policy and Administration