Skip to main content

Political Science: Alternative & Non-Mainstream Publications

Library Catalog

In the library catalog Onesearch , you can search books by title, author, subject or keywords.  You can also use Browse  for  subject search, author, title, and call numbers.

 The following are the standard subject terms used in the catalog for alternative publications. 

  Underground Press                       Libertarianism periodicals
  Underground Press Publications    Socialist Party (U.S.) -- History -- Sources
  Communism -- Periodicals            Radicalism -- Periodicals
  Socialism -- Periodicals                 Radicalism United States Newspapers
  Conservatism Periodicals               Right and left (Political science) -- Periodicals

 

Reference Books

Journals of dissent and social change : a bibliography of titles in the California State
     University, Sacramento, Library 
PNZ 6944 .S55 L5 1993    (2 North Reference)
Alternative publications : a guide to directories, indexes,
bibliographies, and other
     sources 
Z 1033 .L73 A45 1990
(2 North Reference)
Annotations : a guide to the independent critical press
     PN 4784 .U53 A565 1999 
(2 North  Reference)
Directory of new age & alternative publications : an international directory of new 
     age  & alternative publications
Z 1033 .U58 D573 1997         
(2 North Reference)
The American radical press, 1880-1960 HX 1 .A49  (2 South)  (Essays on various
     periodicals,   many  having been  written as
  introductions for Greenwood Press' 
     Radical reprint series)

Underground newspaper collection UM libraries (1960s-70s) PNZ 6944 .U5 U563
     (2 North Reference)  Includes annottions.
Undergrounds; a union list of alternative periodicals in  libraries of the United 
      States and Canada
PNZ 6944 .U5 D3    
(2 North Reference)           
Bibliography on the American Left   
     
Re JAZ 7164 .P3 W24 1980 (2 North Reference)      
Bibliography on the American Right  
     
Re JAZ 7164 .P3 W25 1980
(2 North Reference)    
The directory of British alternative periodicals, 1965-1974 
      PNZ 6956 .G6 N69(3 North)

Contact Librarian

Hong Wang
Social Sciences Librarian
Library Room 2002
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819

Phone: 916-278-6373
Send Email

Subjects:
Political Science, International Relations, Public Policy and Administration