Skip to main content

Selected Resources on Ancient Mesoamerica

The ANTH 121 Journal Assignment

Anthro 121: The Archaeoloy of Mexico Article Review Instructions

 

The purposes of this assignment include:

  • Familiarizing you with some professional archaeological literature
  • Exercising your analytical and writing skills (Note: Writing assignments are a mandatory component in upper division GE courses)
  • Providing you with feedback on your efforts (See Grade Form below)

Instructions for successful completion of these assignments:

    1. You should review a recent research article at least eight (8) pages long from a professional research journal.

      By "recent": Your article should date from the year 2000 or later.

      Your article should be from one of the following journals:

      • Ancient Mesoamerica
      • Latin American Antiquity
      • Current Anthropology
      • American Antiquity
      • Journal of Anthropological Archaeology
      • Journal of Field Archaeology
      • Natural History
      • Science
      • World Archaeology

      • NO EXCEPTIONS WILL BE MADE
  • The subject of the article must fall within the course subject (The archaeology of Mexico), and it must be a serious one.

  • A good rule of thumb is that the article should have about the same amount of written material as a chapter in your text book.

  • You will be asked to turn in a copy of the article's abstract page separately in class.
  • Each review should be about two (2) pages, typed, double-spaced. Your main job is to take a lot of information and make it small, while not losing the main points. That takes thought and judgement.
  • Your review must utilize the four-part format detailed in the assignment and available on SacCT.

 

Getting Started with the ANTH 121 Journal Assignment

There are multiple ways to complete the ANTH 121 Journal Assignment.

Using JSTOR to search most, but not all, appropriate journals for the assignment.

1. From the Library Homepage click on the link to Databases & Article Searching (http://xerxes.calstate.edu/sacramento/)

2. Scroll down the page until you see Databases by Subject. Select Anthropology (http://xerxes.calstate.edu/sacramento/databases/subject/anthropology)

3. Select the database called JSTOR (All Subjects) (http://xerxes.calstate.edu/sacramento/databases/proxy/CAL08184)

4. Scroll down the page and click on the plus (+) sign next to Anthropology. Put check marks in the boxes next to appropriate journals, as stated in the assignment.

5. Scroll down the page further and click on the plus (+) sign next to Archaeology. Put check marks in the boxes next to appropriate journals, as stated in the assignment.

6. Select a date range from 2000 until 2011.

7. Enter your search terms: Aztec and warfare, City states and Maya, etc. Hit enter.

8. As you view results ensure that the proper date, page count, and culture area are all present. The example below contains the appropriate date range, page count, and culture area.

Tips for completing the assignment

  1. JSTOR (All Subjects) is a journal archive and hence limits the available dates for articles.

  2. Not all articles in JSTOR, or the selected journal by name, are available full-text.

  3. Consider the length of the article. While you are summarizing an article over eight (8) pages, it is difficult within the scope of the assignment to summarize a 30 page article. Select wisely.

  4. Consult the Evan's text for culture areas within Mesoamerica.

  5. Many archaeological sites within the American Southwest "sound" like they belong in Mesoamerica.