Searchable database of information from The Oxford guide to United States Supreme Court decisions. Resource includes over 400 entries for Supreme Court decisions throughout U.S. history published in the Oxford companion to the Supreme Court. Additionally, 45 new entries for post-1991 decisions have been included
The highly‐acclaimed Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court was first published in 1992, since which time the Supreme Court has continued to write constitutional history. This new edition of the Companion has been fully updated and includes new entries on key cases and full treatment of crucial areas of constitutional law, such as abortion, freedom of religion, school desegregation, freedom of speech, voting rights, military tribunals, and the rights of the accused
This widget allows you to find a legal case by citation number or party name. If you are looking up a Landmark Supreme Court case, such as Roe v. Wade, you may want to use the link provided on the widget to navigate to the Landmark Cases search form.
Make sure when entering the legal citation that the format is correct. You will not get a search result if your legal citation is not formatted properly. For details, see the article on Legal Citation Formats.
If you are entering a party name, it does not matter which side of the v. you enter the name on. Roe v. Wade will bring the same results as Wade v. Roe. You can also run a search on a single name if it unusual enough, for example "Plessy."
To search for cases related to a specific topic such as Civil Rights, try entering a word or phrase in the By Topic search box. You can connect terms with AND and OR for Boolean Searching. For more details and tips, see the article on Legal Topics Search
To search cases by legal topic, attorney, judge, etc, use the links provided on the widget to navigate to other legal search forms. These forms will allow you to do a more advanced search.
FindLaw's searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: U.S. Reports 150-, 1893-). Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text.
Provides summaries and arguments made before the Court. -Search Supreme Court Briefs by date -Search Supreme Court Briefs by party name -Do a keyword search and search the full text of the Supreme Court Briefs
The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.