Welcome
This guide will help you find information about Asian politics. Click the tabs above to find online and print resources.
If you need additional help with your research, I'm available for consultations. Just email or call me.
Hong Wang
Library Room 2002
email: wanghong@csus.edu
Phone: 916-278-6373
Referenc Books
Encyclopedia of modern Asia
ref DS 4 .L48 2002
The Asian political dictionary DS 31 .Z57 1985
Regional outlook. Southeast Asia
ref DS 520 .R44 (1992-2002)
Southeast Asia : a historical encyclopedia DS 524 .S68 2004
East Asia and the United States : an encyclopedia of relations since 1784
DS 518.8 .E22 2002
The United States in Asia : a historical dictionary ref DS 33.4 .U6 S46 1990
World geographical encyclopedia G 63 .E5213 1995 (V. 3)
References of selected countries
Encyclopaedia of Indian events and dates
DS 433 .B49 1986
Historical dictionary of Sri Lanka ref DS 489.5 .S33 1998
Historical dictionary of Cambodia ref DS 554.25 .C67 2003
Historical dictionary of Vietnam ref DS 556.25 .D85 1998
Historical and cultural dictionary of Thailand ref DS 563 .S56
Historical dictionary of Singapore ref DS 610.4 .M85 1991
Indonesia comprehensive overview year book ref DS 611 .I5225
Historical dictionary of Indonesia ref DS 633 .C75 1992
Historical and cultural dictionary of the Philippines ref DS 654 .M27
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Japan ref DS 805 .C36 1993
Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan ref DS 805 .K633 1983
(10 volumes)
Dictionary of the political thought of the People's Republic of China
ref JQ 1501 .A25 H4 2001
A dictionary of official titles in imperial China JQ 1512 .Z13 T53 1985
Modern China : a chronology from 1842 to the present
ref DS 755 .M2 1982
A chronology of the People's Republic of China from October 1,1949.
ref DS 777.55 .C44567
Chronology of the People's Republic of China, 1970-1979
ref DS 777.55 .C445669 1986
Korean communism, 1945-1980 : a reference guide to the political
system
JQ 1729.5 .A3 1981 S83
Journals/databases/indexes
The following electronic databases index articles in newspapers, magazines and journals, many of which are full-text. They are available from the Library Homepage by selecting Databases and Periodical Indexes. These databases are accessible from library research stations and campus computer labs. For connecting to library databases from off-campus, please read instructions here .
AccessUN WorldCat
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Country Reports
Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
LexisNexis Academic
Dissertations and Theses
JSTOR
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Proquest Newspapers (ProQuest)
Leaders
Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations (Vol. 6)
ref. G 63 .W67 2001
Founders of modern nations : a biographical dictionary ref D 226.7 .H36 1995
Heads of state and government ref JF 37 .D3 2000
Who's who in world politics : from 1860 to the present day ref. D 21.3 .P35 1996
The International year book and statesmen's who's who ref JF 37 .I5 (1953-1996)
Who's who in the People's Republic of China
ref DS 778 .A1 B33
Biographic dictionary of Chinese communism, 1921-1965 ref DS 778 .A1 K55 1971 (2 volumes)
EUREKA/Library Catalog
EUREKA (located on the World Wide Web at the Library Homepage) lists books, master’s theses, government documents, media, etc. that the library owns on all subjects. It also lists which periodicals the library owns by the name of the periodical. These materials can be searched by author, title, subject, or keyword. The advanced keyword search helps you limit your search by material type, location, language, and year of publication, etc.
Subject terms
The Library of Congress Subject Headings lists specific subject terms to use in EUREKA.The following is a list of some subject terms useful in searching
Asian politics.
Asia Politics
Asia Politics And Government
Asia Social Conditions
Asia Relations China (or Japan, Europe, etc.)
Asia Social Sciences
Asia Study And Teaching
Asia Central
Asia Foreign Relations China (or Japan, Europe, etc.)
East Asia
South Asia
Southeast Asia
country name
Print sources
Print
Indexes
Periodicals are located in Floor 3 South, shelved alphabetically by title. Volumes published prior to 1980 are shelved on Lower Level. Current newspapers are in 3 South Newsprint until replaced by microfilm in Library Media Center on Floor 1. The following are the major printed indexes to periodical articles.
CSA political science &
governmen t (ABC Pol Sci.). Index Area JA 71 .A214
PAIS international in print. Index Area HZ 7163 .P94
Social Sciences Index. Index Area AI 3 .R494
Social Sciences Citation
Index. Index Area HZ7161.S62
Peace Research Abstracts
Journal. ref JX 1901 .P38
Print
Journals
The
following is a list of selected print journals available in the library.
Asian affairs, an American review (v. 23(1996/97)- )
Bulletin of concerned Asian scholars (v.3(1971)-v.32(2000))
Critical Asian studies
(v.33(2001)- )
Harvard journal of Asiatic studies (
v. 1(1936)- )
Japan close-up (Current two years
only)
Journal of contemporary Asia
(v.5(1975)-v.34(2004))
Modern Asian studies (v.1(1967)-
)
Country Information
Political risk yearbook JX 1252 .P65 2001 Vol. 6 and Vol. 7.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
(Vol. 5) ref G 63 .W67 2001
Culturgrams: the Nations Around Us. ref GT 150 .C85 2000
Countries of the World. ref D 848 .C6 (1980-94)
Portals
to the World www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
CountryWatch http://www.countrywatch.com/
Documents
Selected legal documents of the People's Republic of China ref JQ 1500 .A3 S4 (2 volumes)
The MAGIC diplomatic summaries : a chronological
finding aid ref DZ 6207 .W8 C6 1982
A Subject and name index to the MAGIC documents :
summaries and transcripts of the top-secret
diplomatic communications of Japan, 1938-1945 ref D 754 .J3 M333
The MAGIC documents : summaries and transcripts of
the top secret diplomatic communications of Japan,
1938-1945 Microfilm 000405 Pol Pot plans the future : confidential leadership
documents from Democratic Kampuchea,
1976-1977 JQ 939 .A8 P37 1988
Lyndon B. Johnson's Vietnam papers : a
documentary collection ref DS 557.4 .J64 1997
Vietnam, a history in documents ref
DS 556.8 .V532 1981
Soviet South Asian relations, 1947-1978
ref DS 341.3 .R9 S68 1979
Burma: Japanese military administration, selected
documents, 1941-1945 ref D 802 .B8 T7
The British papers : secret and confidential,
India, Pakistan,
Bangladesh
documents 1958-1969 ref DS 480.84 .B695 2002
GPO Access
*free to public
(Official federal government
information)
GPO Monthly Catalog (Records
on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government.)
Statistics
Asia-Pacific in figures
ref HA 4551 .A853 1999
International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania,1750-1988 ref HA 4675 .M55 1995
International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993 ref HA 4675 .M552 1998
International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania,1750-2000 ref HA 4675 .M552 2003
Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Far East
ref HC 411 .U5 (1968-1970
Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific ref HC 411 .U5 ( 1984, 1994, 1999-2000
Japan statistical year-book ref HA 1832 .J36 (1951, 1960-1970, 1983, 2001
China statistical abstract
ref HA 4631 .C43 (1988-1990)
Contact Librarian |
Contact Info Library Room 2014 2000 State University Drive East Sacramento, CA 95819 Phone: 916-278-6373 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
