Use this guide as a starting point for resources on the Ottoman Empire that supplement course content. The University Library, especially the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection, has extensive materials on the Ottoman Empire and modern Turkey available to meet your needs. Feel free to contact me by e-mail or phone for further assistance or to make an appointment for a consultation for help with your annotated bibliography assignment.
Note: Throughout this guide, all links open in new windows.
From Encyclopaedia Britannica.
For more information about the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection, visit the Collection's Web site; for an in-depth profile, see my article "The Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection at California State University, Sacramento: A Beacon of Hellenism in the Western United States," Journal of Modern Greek Studies 26:1 (2008) 19-27.
Locations:
With the exception of the rare and media materials, the Collection is housed in a separate, named area on the third floor of the University Library and is accessible the same hours as the main library building. Rare and archival materials are located in the Gerth Department of Special Collections and University Archives, which has more limited hours, and media materials can be found either in the User Services Department (audiovisual) or on the second floor (microforms).
Materials in the Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection have several designated locations (click on thumbnail images for larger maps):
| 2 North Microfilm Collection (Cabinets 56-57) |  |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos |  |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos Oversize | |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos Juvenile | |
| 3 North Tsakopoulos Reference | |
| Gerth Special Collections and University Archives (1 South) |  |
