This is the "Home" page of the "GOVT 158 Media Analysis Project (in coordination with Dr. Daniel Kirsch)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GOVT 158 Media Analysis Project (in coordination with Dr. Daniel Kirsch)  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2017 URL: http://csus.libguides.com/GOVT158 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Librarian

Hong Wang
Political Science Librarian

Library Room 2014
2000 State University Drive East
Sacramento, CA 95819

 

General instruction

          Hello, this assignment requires both statistics and qualitative analysis. Please read Dr. Kirsch's instruction carefully, especially the list of questions and concepts that should be addressed from an historical/analytical perspective.

Most of  research for the questions would be conducted in journals/newspapers in the following recommended databases.

 

ABI/INFORM Complete  

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

ProQuest Global Newsstream(ProQuest)

JSTOR (All Subjects)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

            The tough part might be this:  Circulation/Ratings/Revenue (and whatever loss or gain of funding or
revenue has been experienced in the last several years).
The Library does not have much update information about
this in printBesides the databases mentioned above, our business librarian suggested online sources, such as Yahoo
finance, Nielsen ratings, and other reports.

--Statista 
   This library database has a lot of data on diverse topics. Just type in your outlet name and see what happens. 

-- Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions (SRDS Media Solutions) 

    This  database is complicated and you will find it challenging the first time you use. You can create your own
     table using the data. The following steps might help:

     (1) Click on Login to Claritas SMS in the big green button (just click and no more actioin is required)
     (2) Click on "Creat content" on the left of the top bar
     (3) Click on Profile Ranking Index 
     (4) Type in the search box under "Select a comparison profile", e.g. Fox
     (5) If there is any search result, you will see a list of categories. Then click on your choice, e.g Fox News
          and click on the blue arrow to add it to the box under "Create a new list"

     (6) Under Select profiles below, click on Syndicated Data Sources and click on again "Claritas Consumer profiles"
     (7) You will see another list of categories. Click on your choice and click on the blue arrow . e.g. Voting 2017
     (8) Then click on the list you want under "Create a new list". If you want more than one list, press Ctrl on the keyboard
             at the same time
     (9) Submit

 

 

 

Ownership and/or Governance Structure

For the ownership and/or governance structure, both books and articles are good starting point. Big names such as New York Times and CNN are easy to find in OneSearch.

Also, be aware that some outlets are owned by parent company, e.g. CNN is owned by Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.

I am sure you can't help googling and you would find quick answers, sort of. In that case, check references at the bottom
and we may have a copy in the library, which makes your source more reliable.

The following reference title might contain information about the outlets of your choice.

-- International Directory of Company Histories  2 NORTH Reference   HD 2721 .I58 1988  

   To use this large series, you are recommended to
   (1) go to volume 115 
   (2) find the company name under Cumulative Index to Companies
   (3) use the reference number to get the proper volume where the information is located,
         e.g.  "New York Times Company, IV 647-49: 19, 283-85 (upd); 61 239-43 (upd)" 
       means volumes 4, 19 and 61 contain information about New York Times Company.

-- The following library databases are basically collections of articles that may contain informatioin about ownership of the outlet.
    Try entering the name of your outlet in one search box and "own* OR company" in another box.

ABI/INFORM Complete 

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

 

 

Audience/Readership demographics

-- Ulrich's periodicals directory  2 NORTH Reference  PNZ 6941 .U4 

    This reference contains information about newspapers and magazines, including major subjects and audience. 

--Statista 
   The library database has a lot of data on diverse topics. Just type in your outlet name and see what happens. 

-- Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions (SRDS Media Solutions) 

    This library database is complicated and you will find it challenging the first time you use. You can create your own
     table using the data. The following steps might help:

     (1) Click on Login to Claritas SMS in the big green button (just click and no more actioin is required)
     (2) Click on "Creat content" on the left of the top bar
     (3) Click on Profile Ranking Index 
     (4) Type in the search box under "Select a comparison profile", e.g. Fox
     (5) If there is any search result, you will see a list of categories. Then click on your choice, e.g Fox News
          and click on the blue arrow to add it to the box under "Create a new list"

     (6) Under Select profiles below, click on Syndicated Data Sources and click on again "Claritas Consumer profiles"
     (7) You will see another list of categories. Click on your choice and click on the blue arrow . e.g. Voting 2017
     (8) Then click on the list you want under "Create a new list". If you want more than one list, press Ctrl on the keyboard
             at the same time
     (9) Submit

-- Article databases
    

ABI/INFORM Complete  

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

ProQuest Global Newsstream(ProQuest)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

-- Online from Google search can 


California State University, Sacramento | University Library | 2000 State University Drive East | Sacramento, CA 95819 | Phone: 916-278-5679

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip